LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Friends Like These

Written by Meg Rosoff

Write A Review
Featured Books for Young Adults Gritty Reads Romance / Relationship Stories

Friends Like These Synopsis

New York City. June, 1982. When eighteen-year-old Beth arrives in Manhattan for a prestigious journalism internship, everything feels brand new – and not always in a good way.

A cockroach-infested sublet and a disaffected roommate are the least of her worries, and she soon finds herself caught up with her fellow interns – preppy Oliver, ruthless Dan and ridiculously cool, beautiful, wild Edie. Soon, Beth and Edie are best friends – the sort of heady, allconsuming bestfriendship that’s impossible to resist.

But with the mercury rising and deceit mounting up, betrayal lies just around the corner. Who needs enemies … when you have friends like these?

From bestselling, award-winning author Meg Rosoff comes a gritty, intoxicating novel about a summer of unforgettable firsts: of independence, lies, love and the inevitable loss of innocence. Sharp and irresistible, it's perfect for fans of Sally Rooney’s Conversations with Friends and Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan.

Friends Like These Press Reviews

"A wonderful, captivating writer" - Daily Telegraph

"A magical and utterly faultless voice" - Mark Haddon

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Sound of Everything
As Far as You'll Take Me
The Places I've Cried in Public
Meat Market

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526646118
Publication date: 09/06/2022
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526646118
Publication date: 9th June 2022
Author: Meg Rosoff
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: YA readers
Genres: Gritty Reads, Romance / Relationship Stories
Collections: 2022 Book Preview: Must Read Books To Look Forward To,

About Meg Rosoff

Meg Rosoff worked in publishing, journalism, politics and advertising before writing How I Live Now. Her books have won or been shortlisted for 18 international book prizes, including the Carnegie Medal and the Orange First Novel Prize, and been translated into over 20 languages. In 2016, Meg was the recipient of the prestigious Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, the world’s largest children’s literature award. She lives in London with her family and two dogs. Click here to read a Q&A with the author's Good Dog McTavish. Click here to read more about Meg Rosoff.

More About Meg Rosoff

More Books By Meg Rosoff

Cover for The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff
Cover for The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff
Cover for McTavish on the Move by Meg Rosoff
View All Books By Meg Rosoff

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×