LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Hatmakers

Written by Tamzin Merchant

Illustrated by Paola Escobar

Part of the The Hatmakers Series

Write A Review

The Hatmakers Review

Adventure Stories Books of the Month Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Historical Fiction

Captivating tale of magic and making in an alternative Georgian London

January 2022 Book of the Month

Cordelia Hatmaker’s family have been making magical hats by Royal Appointment for generations, weaving emotions and states of mind in with the carefully chosen feathers and furbelows. With the country teetering on the brink of war with France, they and the other Maker guilds are called on to create a wardrobe to promote peace. Cordelia knows how crucial the work is – her father is missing at sea, presumed dead, and she doesn’t want any other young people to feel the same grief. But someone seems to be using Maker enchantments to stir up hatred and division and it comes down to Cordelia and her friends Bootmaker Goose and light-fingered pickpocket Sam to save the day.

Filled with invention and mystery as well as some wonderful characters, this action-packed adventure sparkles, author Tamzin Merchant mixing just the right amounts of Georgian London and magic into the story. Cordelia and her friends are excellent companions and readers will be eager for the next in this series.

One to recommend to fans of Michelle Harrison and if you’re after more magical millinery, there’s always Howl’s Moving Castle too by the incomparable Diana Wynne Jones.

Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

The Hatmakers Synopsis

Enter a spellbinding world in this soaring magical adventure, perfect for fans of Nevermoor, A Pinch of Magic and Rooftoppers. 

Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items such as hats, cloaks, watches, boots and gloves from magical ingredients - is a rare and ancient skill, and only a few special Maker families remain. When Cordelia's father Prospero and his ship, the Jolly Bonnet, are lost at sea during a mission to collect hat ingredients, Cordelia is determined to find him. But Uncle Tiberius and Aunt Ariadne have no time to help the littlest Hatmaker, for an ancient rivalry between the Maker families is threatening to surface. Worse, someone seems to be using Maker magic to start a war. It's up to Cordelia to find out who, and why . . .

Featuring gorgeous black-and-white illustrations throughout by Paola Escobar. 

The Hatmakers Press Reviews

A wildly inventive tale, full of laugh-out-loud humour, enchanting magic and rebellious hope. Charming from first page to last. I loved it -- Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island

An utterly charming adventure full of wildness, wit, magic and heart -- Anna James, author of Pages & Co

Imaginative . . .Entertaining, comical and breezy, and the settings are conjured in transporting detail - The Times

A swashbuckling romp for lovers of history and magic . . . Magical elements, complicated plot twists and colourful characters will appeal to Philip Pullman and Harry Potter fans - Kirkus

A cosy magical adventure peppered with charming detail -- Fiona Noble - The Bookseller

Absolutely wonderful -- Emma Carroll, author of Letters from the Lighthouse

An engaging ode to the bonds of family and friendship, the power of teamwork, and the magic that we all have inside ourselves - Booklist

Action-packed . . . Engaging - Publishers Weekly

If you loved this, you might like these...

How to Be a Hero
Escape to the River Sea
Amari and the Great Game
The Mapmakers

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241426319
Publication date: 06/01/2022
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241426319
Publication date: 6th January 2022
Author: Tamzin Merchant
Illustrator: Paola Escobar
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, Historical Fiction
Recommendations: Books of the Month

About Tamzin Merchant

Tamzin grew up in Australia, South Africa and Dubai before moving to England in her early teens, where she finally discovered the season of winter. She has been an actor since the age of 17, when she played the part of Georgiana Darcy in the 2005 adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. Since then, her acting work has taken her around the world and on a journey through time. She has been a Tudor, a Victorian and a Jacobean. She survived the Blitz in 1940 and succumbed to pneumonia in Edwardian times. She's been an alien, a witch, a doomed Queen and a rebel ...

More About Tamzin Merchant

More Books By Tamzin Merchant

Cover for The Mapmakers by Tamzin Merchant
Cover for The Mapmakers by Tamzin Merchant
Cover for The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant
View All Books By Tamzin Merchant

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×