LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Tamzin Merchant - Author

About the Author

Tamzin grew up in Australia, South Africa and Dubai before moving to England in her early teens, where she finally discovered the season of winter. She has been an actor since the age of 17, when she played the part of Georgiana Darcy in the 2005 adaptation of Pride and Prejudice.

Since then, her acting work has taken her around the world and on a journey through time. She has been a Tudor, a Victorian and a Jacobean. She survived the Blitz in 1940 and succumbed to pneumonia in Edwardian times. She's been an alien, a witch, a doomed Queen and a rebel Scottish warrior.

She has also written and directed several award-winning short films. Her latest role is as Imogen Spurnrose in Amazon's original series, Carnival Row. 

Featured books by Tamzin Merchant

Other books by Tamzin Merchant

The Mapmakers

The Mapmakers

Author: Tamzin Merchant Illustrator: Paola Escobar Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/05/2022

Cordelia Hatmaker has saved England from war. She stopped Lord Whitloof's sinister plans, rescued the King and Princess, and restored the Makers Guild. But she still hasn't found her missing father. Ever since Cordelia discovered the hidden map in her father's telescope, she's been searching the streets of London by starlight, trying to uncover its secrets. She never expects to stumble upon a secret society of Mapmakers-or to learn that magic isn't limited to the few Maker families, but instead is all around, if you know where to look. But danger is lurking around every corner, and Cordelia must convince the rival Maker families to work together for once-not only to bring her father home, but to save the very essence of magic itself. . . . With exceptional and inventive storytelling and a lionhearted heroine, Tamzin Merchant once again draws readers into her captivating London and takes them on a breathless new adventure full of wildness, wit, warmth-and magic.

The Hatmakers

The Hatmakers

Author: Tamzin Merchant Illustrator: Paola Escobar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/03/2022

The most important rule to follow when you hunt for hat ingredients is this: keep wildness in your wits and magic in your fingertips. In Cordelia's London, magic is real and is woven into objects created by the five Maker families: the Hatmakers, the Bootmakers, the Watchmakers, the Cloakmakers, and the Glovemakers. Growing up in her father Prospero's footsteps, eleven-year-old Cordelia Hatmaker has learned the family's ancient skills and secrets so she can one day make her own enchanted hats. When Prospero and his ship are lost at sea during an important ingredient expedition, her grief-stricken aunt and uncle must turn their attention toward fulfilling a decree to create a Peace Hat for the king. But Cordelia refuses to accept that her father is gone for good and desperately begins making plans to find him. Then, the Peace Hat is stolen-along with the Peace Boots, Watch, Cloak, and Gloves-and Cordelia realizes that there is a more menacing plot against the Makers' Guild, and that Prospero Hatmaker's disappearance may be connected. Cordelia must uncover the truth about who is behind the thefts if she is to save the Makers and find out what really happened to her father. Full of magic, surprise, and adventure, Tamzin Merchant's sparkling debut introduces a captivating heroine and her extraordinary world.

The Mapmakers

The Mapmakers

Author: Tamzin Merchant Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/02/2022

Return to the spellbinding world of Cordelia Hatmaker in this soaring magical sequel to The Hatmakers. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor, A Pinch of Magic and Harry Potter. Ever since Cordelia discovered the hidden map in her father's precious telescope, she's been searching the streets of London by starlight and trying to uncover its secrets. She's sure that her missing father is out there somewhere, and that if she follows his map, she'll finally discover the truth about his disappearance. She never expects to stumble upon a secret society of Mapmakers - or to learn that magic isn't limited to the few Maker families, but is instead is all around, if you just know where to look . . . But danger is lurking around every corner, and Cordelia must convince the rival Maker families to work together for once - not only to bring her father home, but to save the very essence of magic itself . . . A gorgeous adventure from exceptional new storytelling talent, Tamzin Merchant, featuring beautiful illustrations by Paola Escobar. Praise for The Hatmakers 'Wildly inventive . . . full of laugh-out-loud humour, enchanting magic and rebellious hope. I loved it' Catherine Doyle 'Imaginative' The Times 'An utterly charming adventure full of wildness, wit, magic and heart' Anna James 'Absolutely wonderful' Emma Carroll 'A swashbuckling romp for lovers of history and magic . . . Will appeal to Philip Pullman and Harry Potter fans' Kirkus 'A cosy magical adventure peppered with charming detail' The Bookseller

The Hatmakers

The Hatmakers

Author: Tamzin Merchant Illustrator: Paola Escobar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/02/2021

The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. 'Wildly inventive . . . full of laugh-out-loud humour, enchanting magic and rebellious hope. I loved it' Catherine Doyle Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items such as hats, cloaks, watches, boots and gloves from magical ingredients - is a rare and ancient skill, and only a few special Maker families remain. When Cordelia's father Prospero and his ship, the Jolly Bonnet, are lost at sea during a mission to collect hat ingredients, Cordelia is determined to find him. But Uncle Tiberius and Aunt Ariadne have no time to help the littlest Hatmaker, for an ancient rivalry between the Maker families is threatening to surface. Worse, someone seems to be using Maker magic to start a war. It's up to Cordelia to find out who, and why . . . 'An utterly charming adventure full of wildness, wit, magic and heart' Anna James Featuring illustrations by Paola Escobar.

The Hatmakers

The Hatmakers

Author: Tamzin Merchant Illustrator: Paola Escobar Format: Hardback Release Date: 18/02/2021

Enter a spellbinding world brimming with magic and wonder, perfect for fans of Nevermoor, A Pinch of Magic and Harry Potter. 'Wildly inventive . . . full of laugh-out-loud humour, enchanting magic and rebellious hope. I loved it' Catherine Doyle Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items such as hats, cloaks, watches, boots and gloves from magical ingredients - is a rare and ancient skill, and only a few special Maker families remain. But life as a magical milliner isn't without its difficulties . . . When Cordelia's father Prospero and his ship, the Jolly Bonnet, are lost at sea during a mission to collect hat ingredients, Cordelia is determined to find him. But her Uncle Tiberius and Aunt Ariadne have no time to help the littlest Hatmaker, for an ancient rivalry between the Maker families is threatening to surface. Even worse, someone seems to be using Maker magic to start a war. It's up to Cordelia to find out who, and why . . . Beautifully illustrated throughout by Paola Escobar. 'Imaginative . . . entertaining, comical and breezy, and the settings are conjured in transporting detail' The Times 'An utterly charming adventure full of wildness, wit, magic and heart' Anna James 'Absolutely wonderful' Emma Carroll 'A cosy magical adventure peppered with charming detail' The Bookseller

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×