LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Mapmakers

Written by Tamzin Merchant

Part of the The Hatmakers Series

Write A Review

The Mapmakers Review

Adventure Stories Family / Home Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Historical Fiction

A soaring new adventure for the inimitable Cordelia Hatmaker

Cordelia Hatmaker’s father is missing at sea but, unlike the rest of her family, she is still convinced he is alive and in this sparkling new adventure she is following cryptic clues to his whereabouts, clues discovered on a map hidden in his telescope, together with his handwritten note ‘Look to the stars’.

Unravelling the riddle leads her to make new friends as well as exciting new discoveries about who she is, and what she’s capable of. There’s real magic and charm to Cordelia’s adventures and author Tamzin Merchant fills them with irresistible characters and memorable scenes. There are lots of great stories set in other worlds, but Cordelia’s feels particularly real and inviting and the magic has its own distinctive crackle. This is the sort of read that will make your nose tingle, as Cordelia herself might have said.

Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

The Mapmakers Synopsis

Return to the spellbinding world of Cordelia Hatmaker in this soaring magical sequel to The Hatmakers. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor, A Pinch of Magic and Harry Potter.

Ever since Cordelia discovered the hidden map in her father's precious telescope, she's been searching the streets of London by starlight and trying to uncover its secrets. She's sure that her missing father is out there somewhere, and that if she follows his map, she'll finally discover the truth about his disappearance. She never expects to stumble upon a secret society of Mapmakers - or to learn that magic isn't limited to the few Maker families, but is instead is all around, if you just know where to look . . . But danger is lurking around every corner, and Cordelia must convince the rival Maker families to work together for once - not only to bring her father home, but to save the very essence of magic itself . . .

A gorgeous adventure from exceptional new storytelling talent, Tamzin Merchant, featuring beautiful illustrations by Paola Escobar.

The Mapmakers Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading4Kids expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

This book is historical, hysterical, magical, mystical and full of mayhem. Full review

Philippa Ferry (Age 9)

Cordelia is still trying to find her father, but first she has to confront the evil Lord Witloof again. However, she needs to bring the Makers together in order to defeat him. Full review

Andrea Rayner

The Mapmakers Press Reviews

Praise for The Hatmakers;

'Wildly inventive . . . full of laugh-out-loud humour, enchanting magic and rebellious hope. I loved it' Catherine Doyle

'Imaginative' The Times

'An utterly charming adventure full of wildness, wit, magic and heart' Anna James

'Absolutely wonderful' Emma Carroll

'A swashbuckling romp for lovers of history and magic . . . Will appeal to Philip Pullman and Harry Potter fans' Kirkus

'A cosy magical adventure peppered with charming detail' The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Firefox
The Hatmakers
The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List
How I Became a Dog Called Midnight

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241426333
Publication date: 17/02/2022
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241426333
Publication date: 17th February 2022
Author: Tamzin Merchant
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 400 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Family / Home Stories, Fantasy / Magical, Historical Fiction
Recommendations: Reviewed by Children

About Tamzin Merchant

Tamzin grew up in Australia, South Africa and Dubai before moving to England in her early teens, where she finally discovered the season of winter. She has been an actor since the age of 17, when she played the part of Georgiana Darcy in the 2005 adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. Since then, her acting work has taken her around the world and on a journey through time. She has been a Tudor, a Victorian and a Jacobean. She survived the Blitz in 1940 and succumbed to pneumonia in Edwardian times. She's been an alien, a witch, a doomed Queen and a rebel ...

More About Tamzin Merchant

More Books By Tamzin Merchant

Cover for The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant
Cover for The Mapmakers by Tamzin Merchant
Cover for The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant
View All Books By Tamzin Merchant

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×