LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

What's New, Harper Drew?

Written by Kathy Weeks

Illustrated by Aleksei Bitskoff

Part of the What's New, Harper Drew? Series

Write A Review

What's New, Harper Drew? Review

Debuts of the Month Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Funny

High-drama Drew family style

April 2022 Debut of the Month

You’ve got to love the diary format, especially when the diarist’s family and friends provide such rich material for comedy and drama. Harper Drew opens her diary with one birthday, her own; and closes it with another, that of annoyingly perfect Maise Felix. The celebrations are very different in scale, but they’re both fairly disastrous and the disasters, in both cases, are down to Drew family members. It seems there’s very little the Drew family can do that doesn’t result in some sort of catastrophe, even their holiday involves berserk animals, mouth to mouth resuscitation and Harper’s little brother Prune being shut in a sock drawer. The great thing about diaries is the unique insight they give us into our protagonist’s innermost thoughts, and as the days pass, we know that no matter what is going on, Harper has the strength of personality to take charge and find her own way of coping. Great fun and a treat for fans of the Wimpy Kid or The Accidental Diary of B.U.G..

Andrea Reece

Other Info

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

What's New, Harper Drew? Synopsis

Welcome to the hilarious world of Harper Drew... there's a whole lot of drama, but luckily she has tried and tested methods to deal with it! Perfect for fans of Dork Diaries.

My name is Harper Drew. I'm using my new journal to take note of all the totally ridiculous things that seem to go on around me with my family and friends. I seem to be the only one who sees all of this stuff for what it is. Completely beyond normal.

Recently I've been logging Drew Dial Ratings for all the mayhem. On a scale of 0 to 10, how likely is someone to say or do something that would be less sensible than (for example) ... a demented camel? First up is the annual Drew trip to France... and while there might not be camels, there are bats and llamas - and my brother Troy who is so obsessed with his hairstyle, he won't even go swimming... that's a whole lot of ratings. I'm just hoping I land an invite to Maisie Felix's party when I'm back to distract me from the Drews... for one whole evening!

The start of a relatable new illustrated series, all about embracing your family, and finding unique ways to deal with life's dramas.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Summer We Turned Green
Girl (In Real Life)
Love Me Not
Worst. Holiday. Ever

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781444961775
Publication date: 03/02/2022
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444961775
Publication date: 3rd February 2022
Author: Kathy Weeks
Illustrator: Aleksei Bitskoff
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Funny
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month

About Kathy Weeks

Before starting work on her children's fiction series, Kathy had quite a few jobs. She has worked on the music counter at WH Smith, been an investment banker, a waitress, a property developer, investigated missing millions for The Sultan of Brunei, founded a successful consulting business, worked for HM Treasury restructuring banks, oh....and cooked dinners at a care home for the elderly. But her love of writing was sparked when collaborating on the best-selling children's non-fiction titles You Are Awesome and Dare to be You with Matthew Syed. Kathy believes that children should all have confidence in their own ...

More About Kathy Weeks

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×