LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Things We Never Said

Written by Susan Elliot-Wright

Featured Books for 13+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Things We Never Said

A powerful debut novel perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell.

 

 

A story that grips you from the very start, slowly weaving together the tale of two people living different lives in different times. Maggie, who is confused and disorientated, finding herself in a mental asylum; and Jonathan, whose seemingly perfect life begins to tumble into chaos and despair. This beautifully written tale keeps your interest and attention from beginning to end. The characters are compassionately presented; they make believable choices, mistakes and errors which endear you to them all the more. A good read with substance, plot and enough depth to keep you enthralled to the very last page.

 

A review from Beverley Davenport, one of our Lovereading panel members

LoveReading4Kids

The Things We Never Said Synopsis

The past shapes us all. But what happens when it hides a secret that changes everything? In 1964, Maggie wakes to find herself in a mental asylum, with no idea who she is or how she got there. Remnants of memories swirl in her mind - a familiar song, a storm, a moment of violence. Slowly, she begins to piece together the past and the events which brought her to this point. In the present day, Jonathan is grieving after the loss of his father. A cold, distant man, he was not easy to love, but at least while he lived there was hope for reconciliation. Then a detective turns up on Jonathan's doorstep to question him about crimes he believes Jonathan's father may have committed long ago...As the two stories interweave, the devastating truth long kept hidden must emerge, and both Maggie and Jonathan are forced to come to terms with the consequences of the shocking and tragic events of over forty years ago.

If you loved this, you might like these...

No Fixed Address
Sofa Surfer
She is Fierce Brave, Bold and Beautiful Poems by Women
What Momma Left Me

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471102325
Publication date: 23/05/2013
Publisher:
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471102325
Publication date: 23rd May 2013
Author: Susan Elliot-Wright
Publisher:
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers
Recommendations: eBooks

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×