The Year of the Rat

Written by Clare Furniss

Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 13+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Year of the Rat

One of our Books of the Year 2014 - May 2014 Debut of the Month  Heartbreak is made bearable by humour in this gripping and touching story of sixteen year old Pearl, struggling to keep going after the death of her mother. Pearl’s mum dies after giving birth to The Rat as Pearl designates her tiny, newborn sister. How can Pearl ever forgive The Rat for all the grief she has caused? Locked into her own sadness and refusing to let anyone help her, Pearl knows that only her mum can help her. What would she say if she turned up and knew what Pearl was thinking? How Pearl grieves for – and with – her mother is a tragic tale beautifully told.

A Piece of Passion from Ingrid Selberg, Publisher, Simon & Schuster  Clare Furniss has that rare ability only the very best writers have: to provoke an authentic emotional response. Clare describes grief that cuts to the bone at the same time as making you smile wryly at life’s unpredictability...If you’re a daughter you can’t help but immediately want to pick up the phone to your mum after reading this…

Teens love to read and in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

The Year of the Rat Synopsis

I always thought you'd know, somehow, if something terrible was going to happen. I thought you'd sense it, like when the air goes damp and heavy before a storm and you know you'd better hide yourself away somewhere safe until it all blows over. But it turns out it's not like that at all. There's no scary music playing in the background like in films. No warning signs. Not even a lonely magpie. One for sorrow, Mum used to say. Quick, look for another. The world can tip at any moment … a fact that fifteen-year-old Pearl is all too aware of when her mum dies after giving birth to her baby sister - The Rat - who is a constant reminder of why her mum is no longer around…

An emotionally compelling novel full of bittersweet humour and heartbreaking honesty about loss, love and learning to move on.  The Year of the Rat, follows a year in the life of 15 year-old Pearl, coping with the heartbreaking loss of her mother and the arrival of ‘the Rat’, her baby sister.  No one can possibly understand Pearl's grief: not her dad, not her best friend and certainly not her gran who never really approved of her son's choice of wife. Feeling completely alone, Pearl struggles to find her place in what feels like an empty and pointless world as she tries to come to terms with losing her mum.

This is a debut that will capture your heart, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Meg Rosoff and John Green.

The Year of the Rat Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids reader review panel were invited to read and review this title.

  • Lola Bridgeman, age 17 - 'An aching exploration of loss and acceptance that echoes perfectly the changes in a young girl's life. Beautiful, lyrical and spellbinding.' Read full review >
  • Ciara McIlvenna, age 17 - 'This book is deeply enticing. It is charming and funny and sweet, yet deals with a heart wrenching topic respectfully. I would recommend this to anyone of any age. A deeply enjoyable read.' Read full review >
  • Ruby Woods, age 16 - 'A heartfelt book that is sure to leave the reader in tears. It’s perfect for any teenager looking for an unforgettable read.' Read full review >
  • Morgan Steigmann, age 14 - 'A truly captivating debut that will steal your heart, Pearl’s story tells of troubles a teenage girl should never have to face... and a feeling of guilt that refuses to shift.' Read full review >
  • Erin Zammitt, age 13 - 'A short and sweet read that will have you crying with laughter one moment and crying with bittersweet sadness the next. A great debut from Furniss.' Read full review >
  • Poppy, age 17 - 'Such a poignant book that though seemingly simple is rather more special than that.' Read full review >
  • Karianne Turner, age 11 - 'a marvellous book...It was very sad to start off with but as you read more it becomes a little happier with every chapter and by the end I was smiling.' Read full review >
  • Kaya B, age 16 - 'a brilliant and emotional debut novel...I look forward to reading more from Clare Furniss.' Read full review >
  • Raimy Greenland, teen - 'The Year of The Rat was exactly what I wanted it to be - heartfelt and real...This book was incredible and I would urge others to read it.' Read full review >
  • Rebecca Tyrrell, age 13 - 'a fabulous, thought provoking novel and one I am glad that I have read.' Read full review >
  • Bethan Scarr, age 13 - 'You fall in love with all the characters instantly, I could hardly put it down... I will always remember roller coaster that is The Year of the Rat.' Read full review >
  • Aimee Sweet, age 13 - 'This book is so fabulous it brought tears to my eyes and at one time I shouted, "Help Pearl! Somebody!"...I recommend this to anyone because anyone would love it.' Read full review >
  • Jade Craddock, adult - 'a heart-wrenching journey but one that is certainly worth the hours spent on it.' Read full review >
  • Tricia Clement - 'Anybody who has lost someone will relate to this story, at times sad, at times funny, a story that all ages will enjoy.' Read full review >

If you loved this, you might like these...

Almost Midnight: Two Festive Short Stories
The Silk Roads A New History of the World - Illustrated Edition
No Fixed Address
Scared to Death

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471171000
Publication date: 01/01/2015
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781471120275
Publication date: 24/04/2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471120275
Publication date: 24th April 2014
Author: Clare Furniss
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback
Suitable for: 13+ readers
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Clare Furniss

Clare Furniss studied at Cambridge University and worked for several years in political media relations. She now lives in Bath and is completing an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University.

More About Clare Furniss

More Books By Clare Furniss

Cover for How Not to Disappear by Clare Furniss
Cover for How Not to Disappear by Clare Furniss
Cover for The Year of the Rat by Clare Furniss
View All Books By Clare Furniss

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.