LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

White Dolphin

Written by Gill Lewis

White Dolphin Synopsis

Bullied at school for her dyslexia and troubled by her mother's unexplained disappearance, Kara seeks sanctuary sailing the ocean's waves in her father's boat. Meanwhile, Felix resents his well-meaning parents for dragging him to live by the coast and misses his old friends back in London. On their first encounter, Kara and Felix take an immediate dislike to each other. But when they happen to discover a dolphin calf stranded on the beach they know they must work together to save it against all odds. Realizing they have more in common than they could ever have guessed, the two friends set out to find the truth behind the disappearance of Kara's marine biologist mother, and to protect the delicate reef in the bay of their home town from the destruction of commercial dredging. Their actions set in motion a dramatic chain of events that no one could have foreseen. And soon they must make an impossible choice. Risk their own lives or face losing everything ...

White Dolphin Press Reviews

'A lyrical, emotive, engrossing adventure that carries its environmental message lightly.' Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times 'An uplifting and beautifully told tale of life, loss, and dolphins, with much to appeal to fans of Lauren St John and Michael Morpurgo.' Fiona Noble, The Bookseller 'Gill Lewis, whose debut novel was the tender Sky Hawk, has excelled herself with White Dolphin, another moving and inspirational tale which is also a gripping action thriller... gracefully written and intense - you can almost feel the salty air brushing your face.' Martin Chilton, Telegraph 'Uplifting.' Evening Standard 'Packs a powerful emotional message into an exciting plot.' Daily Mail 'It's the absorbing story and setting (Lewis is as good as Helen Dunmore at evoking Cornwall) which grips the reader, but don't be surprised if your 10 year-old spends the rest of the holiday campaigning against dredging.' The Sunday Telegraph

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192756220
Publication date: 3rd May 2012
Author: Gill Lewis
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 288 pages

More Books By Gill Lewis

Cover for Eagle Warrior by Gill Lewis
Cover for Run Wild by Gill Lewis
Cover for Sky Dancer by Gill Lewis
View All Books By Gill Lewis

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×