LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

One Silver Summer

Written by Rachel Hickman

One Silver Summer Synopsis

After losing her mum in an accident, Sass is sent to live with her uncle in England. Far from her native Brooklyn, the rocky shores and crumbling castles of Cornwall seem like the perfect place to hide her grief. And when she stumbles across a silver horse in a sunlit meadow Sass feels a surprising sense of peace...only to have it broken by a boy. Arrogant and distrustful, the horse's trainer, Alex, doesn't approve of the trespassing American. Yet after a few chance meetings, he begins to feel a connection to the curious girl with the sad eyes, and offers to teach her to ride. Sass never expected to feel anything again - least of all love - but the lessons reveal a far different Alex, and soon their friendship turns into something more. But Alex has a secret - a bombshell about his family that could shatter Sass's trust...and force him to abandon the one girl who made him believe in himself.

One Silver Summer Press Reviews

'I loved One Silver Summer. A gorgeously swoony tale of first love and beautiful horses set in a Du Maurier inspired Cornwall of rocky beaches and crumbling castles. Perfect for fans of Lauren St John, this fills a gap in the younger teen market for well written, thrilling, romantic stories.' Fiona Noble; 'Loved it. A book bursting with my guilty pleasures.' Sophia Bennett; 'I loved reading One Silver Summer. It kept me captivated all of Friday afternoon, and all weekend I felt like a little part of me was still in Cornwall, surrounded by swirling mists, galloping along a beach.' Natasha Farrant.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781910646298
Publication date: 25th May 2017
Author: Rachel Hickman
Publisher: Old Barn Books
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 288 pages

About Rachel Hickman

Rachel Hickman is a founding Director of Chicken House Books. She wanted to work in children's books since joining the Puffin Club as a child and has lived that dream for over 25 years. Having worked with some of the most famous names in children's publishing, including Roald Dahl, Dick King-Smith, Ursula Moray Williams and Posy Simmonds, Rachel has at last put pen to paper for her own first novel of love, loss - and horses. Rachel lives in the countryside in Hampshire with her husband, two children, the dog and, of course, her horse.

More About Rachel Hickman

More Books By Rachel Hickman

Cover for One Silver Summer by Rachel Hickman
View All Books By Rachel Hickman

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×