Featured Books for 13+ readersFeatured Books for 13+ readers

Books of the Month

The Universe Is Expanding and So Am I
Carolyn Mackler
September 2018 Book of the Month | In a Nutshell: love, trust, truth, and being true to yourself | This engaging and refreshingly candid sequel to the bestselling The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things tackles big issues... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 09/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

True Sisters
Keren David
September 2018 Book of the Month | Interest Age Teen Reading Age 8 | In a Nutshell: Fresh starts | Friendship | Foster family | An uplifting, authentically-voiced novella about finding your way from a bestselling YA author, and a... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 23/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

Other Featured Books this Month

KILLER T
Robert Muchamore
From the creator of the mega-selling Cherub series comes the author's first foray into standalone fiction, a killer-concept, Vegas-set page-turner in which a virus threatens to wipe out humanity. Fourteen-year-old Brit boy Harry is a something of a fish... Featured in: YA readers | 13+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 06/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Philip Pullman
Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2018 | Author of the Year, British Book Awards 2018 | More than two decades after Northern Lights the first book of... Featured in: 11+ readers | 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback / softback | Released 06/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

City of Ghosts
Victoria Schwab
In a Nutshell: Ghostly goings-on | Epic adventure | Cool characters | “Ghosts are everywhere...Just because you can't see them doesn't mean they aren't there.” So claims Cass, the awesomely amiable heroine of this atmospheric treat for pre-teen readers. But, in Cass's... Featured in: 11+ readers | 13+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

Dark Tracks
Philippa Gregory
In a Nutshell: Drive Out the Devil Dancers Menace, madness and medieval adventure abound in this thrilling fourth volume of the atmospheric Order of Darkness series by a doyenne of historical fiction. Luca Vero belongs to the Order of Darkness... Featured in: YA readers | 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 23/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

Poems to Live Your Life By
Chris Riddell
A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month September 2018 | Illustrator and author Chris Riddell has created a rich anthology of poems from the past to the present all of which have a special meaning for him. Grouping them under... Featured in: 11+ readers | 13+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 20/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

Long Way Down
Jason Reynolds
Pressed our lips to the pavement and prayed the boom, followed by the buzz of a bullet, didn't meet us. After Will's brother is shot in a gang crime, he knows the next steps. Only when the lift door opens,... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 02/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

And the Ocean Was Our Sky
Patrick Ness
From the multi-award-winning author of A Monster Calls comes a haunting tale of power and obsession that turns the story of Moby Dick upside down. Featured in: YA readers | 13+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 01/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things
Carolyn Mackler
Fifteen-year-old Virginia feels like a fat, awkward outsider in her perfect family, especially next to her golden-boy big brother Byron. She's got a lot to deal with - her weight, her best friend moving away, the mean girls at school... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/04/2018
Info Extract Buy

Dogchild
Kevin Brooks
Jeet was raised by a pack of wild dogs. Recaptured and `rehumanised', Jeet now lives with the last of his people in an ancient walled town in the vast expanse of the Deathlands, besieged by a much larger enemy clan.... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 31/10/2017
Info Extract Buy

Stay A Little Longer
Bali Rai
Interest Age Teen Reading Age 8 | In a Nutshell: Grief, grit and the glow of friendship | A heartfelt, hard-hitting, super-readable novella about the life-affirming, life-saving friendship that blossoms between a young teenager and her 59 year-old neighbour. All sweet-hearted Aman wanted was... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 15/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

Firebird
Elizabeth Wein
Interest Age Teen Reading Age 8 | In a Nutshell: Soviet girl-pilot powers through WW2 | A super-readable page-turner spiced with absorbing historical detail, and shot-through with the vitality of an unforgettable heroine. Spearheaded by the author's research into Soviet... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 23/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

Last Month's Featured Books

We See Everything
William Sutcliffe
Set in a frightening future version of London in which the lives of two teenage boys cruelly collide in a divided city, this gripping page-turner has pertinent contemporary resonance, and...
Extract Buy

Reader Reviewed The Village at the Edge of the World
Stuart Fryd
August 2018 Book of the Month | In a Nutshell: Mystery and monsters that emerge from the mist | Alexander is apprentice to Professor Cordite, the kind of man who...
Extract Buy

Reader Reviewed The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree
Paola Peretti
August 2018 Book of the Month | In a Nutshell: Tender tale of darkness, loss, light and hope for all ages | “All children are afraid of the dark,” says...
Extract Buy

My [Secret] YouTube Life
Charlotte Seager
August 2018 Debut of the Month An addictive story of love, loss and YouTube from author Charlotte Seager. Lovereading Comment to follow.
Extract Buy

Open Your Mind
Gemma Cairney
In a Nutshell: Clued-up, compassionately honest guide to living your best life. This supportive swoosh of fresh air from a former Radio 1 Agony Aunt and all-round brilliant believer in...
Extract Buy

Don't Stop Thinking About Tomorrow
Siobhan Curham
In a nutshell: friendship and understanding can change the world Two young people under extraordinary pressure are at the heart of Siobhan Curham's compassionate, affecting and ultimately uplifting novel....
Extract Buy

Only Love Can Break Your Heart
Katherine Webber
In a nutshell: love, family and finding yourself Katherine Webber's story is set in Palm Springs the desert landscape beloved of her central character Reiko and on-off boyfriend Seth providing...
Extract Buy

More Featured Books

The Tiger on His Back
Bernard Ashley
Interest Age Teen Reading Age 8 | In a nutshell: tense, contemporary and thought-provoking teenage drama | An eye-catching tattoo of a tiger links four people in Bernard Ashley's new...
Extract Buy

Open Road Summer
Emery Lord
In a Nutshell: Road-trip, romance, fame and friendship Surely one for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, this smart coming-of-age story reels with romance, life lessons and...
Extract Buy

Little Liar
Julia Gray
In a nutshell: YA psychological thriller, as twisty as they come | This story begins in a spiritual retreat. 17 year old Nora is there to recover from an accident...
Extract Buy

Reader Reviewed The Truth About Lies
Tracy Darnton
July 2018 Debut of the Month | In a Nutshell: Mystery, memory, manipulation | A feisty thriller that fizzes with intrigue, paranoia and a cast of fascinatingly flawed characters. For...
Extract Buy

Reader Reviewed Moonrise
Sarah Crossan
July 2018 Book of the Month | Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2018 | Shortlisted for the Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award 2018 | One of Our Books of...
Extract Buy

Mud
Emily Thomas
July 2018 Debut of the Month | Based on the author's own unconventional upbringing on a Thames Barge, Mud is an unusual and touching roman a clef. Lydia tells her...
Extract Buy

Reader Reviewed Never Say Die
Anthony Horowitz
In a nutshell: simply the best action-packed, stylish adventure and escapism Anthony Horowitz's announcement that he was writing a new Alex Rider book was one of the best bits of...
Extract Buy

Everything All at Once
Steven Camden
In a Nutshell: Pitch-perfect, vibrantly-voiced verse for secondary school studentsThese poignant, punch-packing poems explore the varied emotional lives of secondary school pupils facing the giddy transition from being...
Extract Buy

Share this page

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

There comes a point in a young life when the time is right to move on from the books and children’s authors they enjoyed as a child to reading books and authors that offer greater challenges as they grow up into adulthood. The books in this 13+ category are exactly that. They bridge that gap to introduce you and your teenager to authors who write for that early teen reader but also adult authors who also write for a teenage / young adult audience.

You could also check out our latest highlights such as the 'prizewinners' section where we can help you to discover authors currently in contention for and/or winners of the most prestigious awards, such as the Teenage Book Prize that we feel your teenagers will love.

And finally, if your teens prefer to choose their own books then our special teen category on our sister site Lovereading called 'new gen' is the perfect place for them to start.

Click here to read some helpful tips from top children's publisher Egmont.


Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****