LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

A Bite in the Night Reader Reviews

A Bite in the Night

Sarah Ormes

A fantastic addition to The Rabbit and Bear series which will be very popular with emerging readers. Very high production values, beautiful illustrations and a sweet story about the importance of friendship. This one will fly off the library shelves.

Hurrah a new Rabbit and Bear story! This is the fourth in the series and continues the high standards of the previous three. The book is beautifully produced and, as always with Jim Field, wonderfully illustrated. The story is laugh-out-loud funny and will definitely appeal to children from about six upwards. I already have a pile of reservations from children waiting to read it. Perfect for fans of Captain Pug, Claude and Dave Pigeon. A great addition to the library.

Samantha Letters

'A Bite In the Night': share this funny and quirky tale of friendship and the environment with your child. The fourth in the highly illustrated Rabbit and Bear series.

Rabbit and Bear work out if friendship or personal gain is more important in 'A Bite in the Night', the fourth book in this highly illustrated and quirky series for confident readers.

Laidback Bear and nervous but occasionally blunt-spoken Rabbit face the destruction of their valley home by Castor, a beaver intent on cutting down trees to create a dam. Nicely characterised as pursuing environmental destruction in the name of progress, Castor is only interested in the benefits for him; he has no experience of friendship or even how to smile. Bear will also benefit from the new dam, whilst Rabbit and the smaller creatures will lose their habitat. However, unlike Castor, Bear puts friendship first. All of the animals work together to build a lodge, not just for lonely Castor, but as a club where they can learn to dance.

This is an ideal book for sharing, as the relationship between the central characters is realistic and funny, whilst there is plenty to keep an adult amused, no matter how many times the book is read. Large, clear font and just three or four sentences per page make this a good choice for children progressing from picture books. The full-page illustrations use a dark colour scheme which will appeal to older children.

Milo Jones

Great characters and a fun, appealing layout.

Everything in the forest is breaking and falling down because there's a naughty beaver eating and changing things. But he learns how to be friends and be happy.
I liked the woodpecker because he was so funny talking. 4/5

Sarah, Milo's Mum
I read this with my 4 year old son. He enjoyed the story and the moral of being considerate of others worked well. He was a little too young to be able to read alone, but possibly wouldn't have enjoyed the story as much when able to read it alone. I do prefer chapter books as there's a natural pause, as it was we had to read this in one go! Great characters and a fun, appealing layout.

Charlotte Walker

An entertaining animal adventure!

Rabit & Beat: A Bite in the Night is the fourth in the Rabbit and Bear series. Trees are disappearing in the forest and Rabbit is worried. The search for an explanation is on!

I found both Rabbit and Bear funny, their characters are so different and yet they partner well in this search to work out why their forest is changing. I think that this is a brilliant book about friendship and teamwork while also providing some education on ecology and the roles of animals within a forest. 

I'm sure this will be a hit with fans of the series already. And new readers can enjoy knowing there's more books to seek out.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444921748
Publication date: 20th February 2020
Author: Julian Gough
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 112 pages
Suitable for: 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Humorous, Animals, Personal Social Health Economic
Other Categories: Books of the Month, Reluctant Readers, Reviewed by Children
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×