LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Julia Golding - Author

About the Author

Julia Golding is the author of over thirty books for children and young adults. Her stories are set all over the world (and in some new worlds too) and span the centuries.

In her first year as a published author, she won the Nestlé Children’s Book Prize (Gold Award), was shortlisted for the Costa Children’s Book Award, longlisted for the prestigious Carnegie Medal, and won the Waterstone’s Children’s Book Prize.  In the US, Secret of the Sirens won the honor book medal of the Green Earth Book Award.  Dragonfly won the 2012 Beehive Book Award, Young Adult Division, given by the Children's Literature Association of Utah and voted on by readers in schools and public libraries.

She has sold over half a million books worldwide and they are translated into more than fifteen languages.

Julia Golding lives in Oxford with her husband and three children.

Click here to read a Q&A with the author from top children's publisher Egmont.

Featured books by Julia Golding

Other books by Julia Golding

The Queen's Wardrobe The Story of Queen Elizabeth II and Her Clothes

The Queen's Wardrobe The Story of Queen Elizabeth II and Her Clothes

Author: Julia Golding, Michele Clapton Illustrator: Kate Hindley Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/04/2021

The story of the life of Queen Elizabeth II, told through her clothes and jewellery - and a gorgeous gift to treasure. A big beautiful book to celebrate the Queen's 95th birthday in style! Includes a foreword by Michele Clapton, costume designer for series one of Netflix's The Crown, giving a peek behind the scenes at the recreation some of the Queen's most famous outfits. Did you know the Queen's crown weighs as much as a bag of potatoes? Or that she has her own tartan nobody else is allowed to wear? Written by the Waterstones Children's Book Prize-winning Julia Golding, The Queen's Wardrobe is packed with fascinating stories and astounding facts about our record-breaking Queen. The detailed, humorous and colourful artwork from bestselling Kate Hindley shows what it's really like to grow up as a princess. This book brings to life the story of a young princess who grew into one of the world's best-loved and most famous royals, touching on wartime truck-fixing, ration-book wedding dress making, splendid gowns, trusty wellies, the Crown Jewels and jumping out of a helicopter with James Bond.

Modern Flights Where next?

Modern Flights Where next?

Author: Julia Golding, Andrew Briggs, Roger Wagner Illustrator: Brett Hudson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/06/2019

Join Harriet, Darwin's pet tortoise, and Milton, Schrodinger's indecisive cat on a time-travelling quest of discovery, unravelling scientific exploration and religious beliefs and how they fit together. Throughout the centuries humans have been looking for answers to BIG questions - how did the universe start? Is there a God behind it? Has science explained away the need for a God, or can faith enhance scientific discovery? Take to the skies in this adventure and zoom off into space , exploring the scientific discoveries of the technological age. Step into Harriet and Milton's time machine, bring some snacks, and enjoy this curious quest of discovery. Written by Julia Golding, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2006, and the Nestle Smarties Book Prize 2006.

Victorian Voyages Where did we come from?

Victorian Voyages Where did we come from?

Author: Julia Golding, Andrew Briggs, Roger Wagner Illustrator: Brett Hudson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/06/2019

Join Harriet, Darwin's pet tortoise, and Milton, Schrodinger's indecisive cat on a time-travelling quest of discovery, unravelling scientific exploration and religious beliefs and how they fit together. Throughout the centuries humans have been looking for answers to BIG questions - how did the universe start? Is there a God behind it? Has science explained away the need for a God, or can faith enhance scientific discovery? On this adventure, Harriet and Milton meet the great Victorian scientists. Voyage with Darwin as he worked out his theory of Evolution. Step into Harriet and Milton's time machine, bring some snacks, and enjoy this curious quest of discovery. Written by Julia Golding, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2006, and the Nestle Smarties Book Prize 2006.

Hunt with Newton What are the Secrets of the Universe?

Hunt with Newton What are the Secrets of the Universe?

Author: Julia Golding, Andrew Briggs, Roger Wagner Illustrator: Brett Hudson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/11/2018

Join Harriet, Darwin's pet tortoise, and Milton, Schrodinger's indecisive cat on a time-travelling quest of discovery, unravelling scientific exploration and religious beliefs and how they fit together. Throughout the centuries humans have been looking for answers to BIG questions - how did the universe start? Is there a God behind it? Has science explained away the need for a God, or can faith enhance scientific discovery? On this adventure, Harriet and Milton are investigating the beginning of the modern scientific age - experiment with Boyle and Hooke, and meet Newton. Step into Harriet and Milton's time machine, bring some snacks, and enjoy this curious quest of discovery. Written by Julia Golding, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2006, and the Nestle Smarties Book Prize 2006.

Companions: Mines of the Minotaur

Companions: Mines of the Minotaur

Author: Julia Golding Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2018

Connie is a member of the Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures and the only one who can talk to animals and the mythical creatures she has vowed to protect. But now something dark is calling her, giving her a dangerous power. When her strange behaviour means Connie is rejected by the secret society she runs away and finds solace among the wounded mythical creatures the Society and the world have long since forgotten. But even here she can't block out the dark voice in her head. Who is it and where does it come from? And why does Connie feel so terrified by the power it gives her? Perfect for fans of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, this is a classic adventure story with a very modern twist!

Companions: The Chimera's Curse

Companions: The Chimera's Curse

Author: Julia Golding Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2018

The Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures is facing their most deadly threat. Connie is the only member of the society who can keep peace between humans and the hidden mythical beings that are being destroyed by our pollution. But the shapeshifter Kullervo craves her power. He wants to use it to wipe out all of humanity. During the long, hot summer, Kullervo prepares for war. The serpent-like chimera is just one part of his frightening army. As Kullervo's hatred blazes into life, Connie and her best friend Col must stop him. But how? And who will survive this fight to the death? Perfect for fans of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, this is a classic adventure story with a very modern twist!

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.juliagolding.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×