Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Costa Children's Book Award 2020

Costa Children's Book Award 2020

Congratulations to Natasha Farrant on her Costa Children's Book Award 2020 win - we were thrilled to see Voyage of the Sparrowhawk scoop the prize. We have reviews and extracts for all the winning and shortlisted titles so read on for more about these four fantastic children's books - and some previous award winners too.

Costa Children's Book Award Shortlist

Previous Costa Children's Winners

Winner: Voyage of the Sparrowhawk

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk is an epic journey of police chases, storms at sea and unexpected puppies. Set in the aftermath of World War 1 it follows two orphans as they take their narrowboat across the Channel in search of lost loved ones and a place to call home. A thrilling rollercoaster of an adventure, full of emotion and heart.

The Costa Children's Book Award Winner
Voyage of the Sparrowhawk by Natasha Farrant - published by Faber
The judges said: ‘We loved everything about this remarkable, special, delightful book – pure heavenly escapism and a purely joyful read.’
The Shortlist for the Costa Children's Book Award
Wranglestone by Darren Charlton - published by Little Tiger
The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates by Jenny Pearson - published by Usborne
The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff - published by Bloomsbury
The Costa Book Awards is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way. It is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres.

On the judging panel for the 2020 Costa Children's Book Awards is:

Patrice Lawrence, award-winning author

John McLay, Children’s Literary Scout and Book Event Organiser

Alex O'Connell, Arts Editor and Children’s Book Critic, The Times

The winner of the Children's Book Category 2019 was Asha & the Spirit Bird, Jasbinder Bilan's sublime debut novel; as the judges said, “Wow! We unanimously lost our hearts to this gorgeous book.” It is an enchanting Indian adventure that sings with magic, mysticism and a whole lot of heart, inspired by her special relationship with her grandmother and drawing on the rich heritage of her family history. You can download an extract and read our full review here.

The winners of the five categories of the Costa Book Awards - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book - were announced on BBC Radio 4's Front Row on Monday 4 January 2021 and each received a £5,000 prize. The category winners, including Voyage of the Sparrowhawk, then go forward into the competition to win the overall  Costa Book of the Year 2020 which will be announced on Tuesday 26th January 2021, and the overall winner will receive a £30,000 prize.

You can read more about the winning books in the other categories on our sister site, LoveReading - Costa Book Awards 2020.
For more information visit and keep up with the latest news @CostaBookAwards