Eliza Rose

Written by Lucy Worsley

Adventure Stories Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Historical Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Eliza Rose

One of our Books of the Year 2016 |  Julia Eccleshare's Debut of the Month, April 2016 TV historian Lucy Worsley is gifted at bringing the past to life and shows it to great effect here. Her detailed knowledge of the Tudors, the people and above all the places, provides the perfect background to a coming of age story set in a different time. Eliza Camperdowne comes from an old but impoverished family; she knows that the future of her family’s fortunes depend on her making the right kind of marriage. Ideally, that means marrying a man with money and a title. But Eliza’s life plan is changed when she is sent with her cousin to be a maid of Honour at the Court of King Henry V111. Katherine may be a cousin but can Eliza trust her?  As Katherine finds favour with the King himself, Eliza must learn to survive the intrigue and treachery of the court. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for April 2016

Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley

Tidy by Emily Gravett

Freddie Mole, Lion Tamer by Alexander McCall Smith

Slug Needs a Hug by Jeanne Willis

There's a Moose on the Loose by Lucy Feather

Nature's Day: Out and About by Kay Maguire

Eliza Rose Synopsis

The captivating debut children's novel from popular television historian Lucy Worsley is an exciting and charming glimpse behind the scenes of the Tudor court.

I would often wonder about my future husband. A knight? A duke? A stable boy? Of course the last was just a wicked fancy.

Eliza Rose Camperdowne is young and headstrong, but she knows her duty well. As the only daughter of a noble family, she must one day marry a man who is very grand and very rich. But Fate has other plans. When Eliza becomes a maid of honour, she's drawn into the thrilling, treacherous court of Henry the Eighth ...Is her glamorous cousin Katherine Howard a friend or a rival? And can a girl choose her own destiny in a world ruled by men?

Perfect for fans of Hetty Feather.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Where the World Ends

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408898031
Publication date: 08/02/2018
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781408869437
Publication date: 07/04/2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408869437
Publication date: 7th April 2016
Author: Lucy Worsley
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, General Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance / Relationship Stories
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, Julia Eccleshare's Picks, eBooks

About Lucy Worsley

Lucy Worsley is Chief Curator at Historic Royal Palaces, the independent charity that runs the Tower of London, Hampton Court Palace and other sites, which attract more than four million visitors a year. Lucy also presents history programmes for the BBC on topics including royal palaces and the court, such as Britain's Tudor Treasure with David Starkey. She had an exciting new project about Henry VIII and his court coming up on BBC One in 2016.

More About Lucy Worsley

More Books By Lucy Worsley

Cover for Lady Mary by Lucy Worsley
Cover for My Name Is Victoria by Lucy Worsley
Cover for Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley
View All Books By Lucy Worsley

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.