The Hunting of the Snark

Written by Lewis Carroll

Illustrated by Chris Riddell

Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Poetry Poetry Books for Children Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Hunting of the Snark

Julia Eccleshare's Pick of the Month July 2016  A perfect celebration of Alice Day 2016, this beautiful, fully illustrated edition of Lewis Carroll’s great comic masterpiece which comes complete with gilt-edged pages and a ribbon for a marker, is the perfect gift book for all ages. The Hunting of the Snark, the riotous story of a motley crew’s journey to find the elusive Snark, has a cast of amazing characters including some from Carroll’s The Jabberwocky all of which Chris Riddell brings to life in glorious, brightly coloured caricatures. ~ Julia Eccleshare

A message from Chris Riddell : This book is nonsense and, like all the best nonsense, it makes a special kind of sense. The hunting of a Snark is a very complicated business and I suspect that not even the Bellman himself really knows quite how to go about it. But that doesn’t stop him and his crew from pursuing the strange, elusive creature with all the tools at their disposal. Thimbles, forks, railway-shares and soap are all used, along with a lot of care, hope, threats and smiles, but not even the lace-making Beaver, ‘bounding along on the tip of its tail’, can get close. Then, after seven poetic convulsions, in a final ‘fit’ of energy, one of the crew spots a Snark and . . . But no, beamish readers, I won’t give away the ending at the beginning, that would be nonsense. Just let me say, beware of the Jubjub bird that sounds like ‘a pencil that squeaks on a slate’, the frume of the frumious Bandersnatch that can turn you black in the face and, most of all, hunt the Snark carefully, for it might be a Boojum, you see.

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for July 2016

Melric and the Crown by David McKee

The Hunting of the Snark by Lewis Carroll, illustrated by Chris Riddell

Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin

Strange Star by Emma Carroll

Farmer Duck by Martin Waddell

Such Stuff: A Story-Maker's Inspiration by Michael Morpurgo

The Hunting of the Snark Synopsis

They sought it with thimbles, they sought it with care; They pursued it with forks and hope; They threatened its life with a railway-share; They charmed it with smiles and soap.

Lewis Carroll's magnificent nonsense poem The Hunting of the Snark features an unlikely cast of characters drawn from the Jabberwocky in Through the Looking Glass.

This re-telling of a crew of men searching high and low for the elusive Snark is not only given a fresh look from Chris Riddell’s intricate and beautiful colour artwork, but as any eagle-eyed reader will soon discover , there is a particular twist for one of the characters in the story.

Chris has previously commented that John Tenniel, the original black and white illustrator of both Alice in Wonderland stories, inspired him to become a political cartoonist and children’s illustrator, and his drawings for The Hunting of the Snark pay homage to Tenniel’s beautiful artwork. Melric and the

The Hunting of the Snark is available in a sumptuous gift edition that is perfect for fans of Lewis Carroll and Chris Riddell of all ages and continues the Macmillan celebrations of Lewis Carroll’s extraordinary Alice in Wonderland world.  

The Hunting of the Snark Press Reviews

“This book is nonsense and, like all the best nonsense, it makes a special kind of sense.” Chris Riddell

If you loved this, you might like these...

Jelly Boots, Smelly Boots
I'm Just No Good At Rhyming
The Rainmaker Danced
My Mum's Growing Down

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781509814336
Publication date: 30/06/2016
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509814336
Publication date: 30th June 2016
Author: Lewis Carroll
Illustrator: Chris Riddell
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Poetry, Poetry
Recommendations: Julia Eccleshare's Picks, eBooks
Other Categories: Alice 150th

About Lewis Carroll

Lewis Carroll was born Charles Lutwidge Dodgson on January 27, 1832, the eldest son and third of eleven children born to Frances Jane Lutwidge and the Reverend Charles Dodgson. Carroll had a happy childhood. His mother was patient and gentle, and his father, despite his religious duties, tutored all his children and raised them to be good people. Carroll frequently made up games and wrote stories and poems, some of which were similar to his later published works, for his seven sisters and three brothers. He was educated at Richmond School in Yorkshire, Rugby School and Christ Church, Oxford. Although his years ...

More About Lewis Carroll

More Books By Lewis Carroll

Cover for Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
Cover for Alice's Adventures in Wonderland Carousel Book by Lewis Carroll
Cover for Mabel Lucie Attwell's Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
View All Books By Lewis Carroll

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×