The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective

Written by Elizabeth Eulberg

Illustrated by Matt Robertson

Crime / Mystery Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective

January 2017 Debut of the Month |  In a nutshell: Sherlock and Watson as you’ve never seen them before  | The Sherlock Holmes stories are given a lively twist.

Eleven-year old John Watson has recently moved into 221 Baker Street, New York with his mum, a former army doctor. One of their new neighbours is Shelby Holmes, red headed, nine years old, alarmingly precocious. As she shows him round the neighbourhood, John reaslises that Shelby is a local hero, a genius at deduction able to work out who’s up to what way faster than the police. She’s not easy to get along with – social niceties are of little interest to Shelby – but the two are soon working together on the case of a missing dog. There are nods to the original novels which will please fans of the books or TV series, and the relationship between Shelby and John is a satisfying mix of companionship and mutual irritation. The mystery will more than hold readers’ attention and this is a smart tribute to Conan Doyle.

Readers who enjoy John and Shelby’s adventures will also appreciate Andrew Lane’s Young Sherlock Holmes series.  ~ Andrea Reece

The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective Synopsis

Shelby Holmes is not your average nine-year-old. For one, she happens to be the best detective her neighbourhood has ever seen, using her uncanny analytical mind and sassy attitude to solve crimes which stump even the police department.

But when eleven-year-old John Watson moves in to her block of flats, Shelby finds a solution to the one puzzle that's eluded her up until now: friendship.

This dynamic duo find themselves swept up in a dog-napping case that'll take both their talents to crack.

The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to the review by one of the Lovereading4kids editorial experts some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. Click here to read their full reviews.

  • Kate Buckley, age 10 - Burford School - 'I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommended to ages 8 plus. It is very humorous and you always want to read on.'    
  • Huxley Glen, age 6 - 'This was a very well written book which was very funny and had lots of funny characters.'
  • Rachel George, age 10 - 'Silly, mysterious - I couldn't put it down.'
  • Bella, age 9 - 'This book is fun to read and the characters are great.'
  • Toby Little, age 9 - 'I liked this book because it shows how two people can be friends even if they are very different.'
  • Ellen, age 7 - 'When a boy moves in [called John Watson] Shelby is taken by surprise because of his detective type of brain! When a winning dog is stolen she and Watson are caught in a case. Can they solve it?'
  • Isabella Glover, age 9 - 'a bit funny but overall it’s a good book.'
  • Robyn Chorley, age 8 - 'A fun story but a bit too confusing.'
  • Charlie Dunn, age 9 - 'I hope this is the start of a series because you can't help but like the characters and smile at the things they say and do.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

Framed
Cosmic
My Mum Tracy Beaker
Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408871478
Publication date: 12/01/2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408871478
Publication date: 12th January 2017
Author: Elizabeth Eulberg
Illustrator: Matt Robertson
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Crime / Mystery, General Fiction, Humorous
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Elizabeth Eulberg

Elizabeth Eulberg was born and raised in Wisconsin before heading off to make a career in the New York City book biz. Now a full-time writer, she is the author of The Lonely Hearts Club, Prom & Prejudice, Take a Bow, Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality, Better Off Friends and We Can Work it Out. 

More About Elizabeth Eulberg

More Books By Elizabeth Eulberg

Cover for The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match by Elizabeth Eulberg
View All Books By Elizabeth Eulberg

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×