The Goldfish Boy

Written by Lisa Thompson

Debuts of the Month Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Goldfish Boy

Longlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2018  |  Longlisted for the UKLA 2018 Book Award

A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month January 2017   A gripping debut middle-grade story skilfully told by debut novelist Lisa Thompson. Trapped indoors by his obsessive fears of germs and much else Matthew watches his neighbours’ lives and details their every move. That’s why he’s the person who knows when toddler Teddy was last seen in his grandfather’s garden. When Teddy goes missing is it Matthew who holds the answer that everyone is seeking? Alongside the detective drama in the background, Lisa Thompson is also insightful about Matthew’s crippling anxieties and how they resolve.  ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for January 2017

The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

The Crayons’ Book of Numbers by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

The Crayons’ Book of Colours by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

Jim by Hilaire Belloc and Mini Grey

His Royal Whiskers by Sam Gayton

 

The Goldfish Boy Synopsis

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance - with the help of a brilliant cast of supporting characters.

Page-turning, heartbreaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

The Goldfish Boy Press Reviews

"A genuinely clever mystery"  Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike

"A great cast of characters and an intriguing mystery - Ross Welford, author of Time Travelling With A Hamster

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Afterwards
Louisiana's Way Home
You've Got A Friend
Don't Stop Thinking About Tomorrow

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781407170992
Publication date: 05/01/2017
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781407170992
Publication date: 5th January 2017
Author: Lisa Thompson
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, Julia Eccleshare's Picks, eBooks
Other Categories: UKLA 2018

About Lisa Thompson

Lisa Thompson worked as a Radio Broadcast Assistant first at the BBC and then for an independent production company making plays and comedy programmes. During this time she got to make tea for lots of famous people. She grew up in Essex and now lives in Suffolk with her family. The Goldfish Boy is her debut novel.

More About Lisa Thompson

More Books By Lisa Thompson

Cover for The Light Jar by Lisa Thompson
View All Books By Lisa Thompson

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×