Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have

Written by Stephan Pastis

Illustrated by Stephan Pastis

Part of the Timmy Failure Series

Crime / Mystery Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

LoveReading View on Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have

In a nutshell: absurd comedy genius |  Timmy Failure is the best worst detective in children’s fiction, and a wonderful comic creation.  In this adventure he’s having to ply his trade very surreptitiously indeed – Mum has banned all detective work until the school holidays. To make things worse, forced to share his room with his cousins, he must set up his office in a garden shed at the local hardware superstore, a place referred to always as Home Despot. Additional trials in Timmy’s life include piano lessons, and trips to orthodontist Mr A Goni. The plot brings even the most surreal strands together and it’s very satisfying. Timmy narrates with the exasperated air of the misunderstood genius and his version of events is just one of the things that makes these books so enjoyable.  ~ Andrea Reece

Timmy Failure will appeal to fans of those other thwarted heroes Tom Gates, Barry Loser and Greg Heffley.

Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have Synopsis

Timmy Failure returns once more in the fifth book in the New York Times bestselling series. Fans of Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates will love the hilarious fifth instalment from Timmy Failure, aka the world's greatest detective.

The only thing you need to know about Timmy's latest memoir is that it was never meant for publication. Timmy's detective log was stolen, and if this book gets out, Timmy will be grounded for life. Or maybe even longer. Because while Timmy was meant to be focusing on schoolwork, he was continuing his detective work in a garden shed. You don't need the details. Just know this: there's a Merry, a Larry, a missing tooth and a disappearing friend. But don't tell Timmy's mother!

For lots of fun downloads, games & activities visit www.timmyfailure.com

And Timmy Failure is now on Poptropica© - a games website that is popular with children around the world! 

Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Alice East, age 11 - 'This book is 100% funny, makes you laugh out loud and I really hope that Stephen Pastis writes more books soon.'
  • Isaac East, age 10 - 'I would recommend this book to Diary of a Wimpy Kid fans and children who like a laugh...the funniest Timmy Failure so far'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'Forget the summer holidays, forget your birthday, and forget Christmas even, I can guarantee that this is what you’ve been waiting for. I’ve read it again and again and I just can’t stop laughing.'
  • Alexander Bisland, age 11 - 'This fun filled comedy keeps you laughing until the end. I recommend that you read the other books in the series first so you understand what happens and you know the characters better.'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 11 - 'If you like crazy stories that are hilarious, then this is THE book for you. The story and illustrations are so crazy and funny. Once you start reading, you just can't put it down.'
  • Farah, age 10 - 'It was absolutely delightfully funny!'

Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have Press Reviews

A brilliantly bad detective  Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

Timmy Failure: It's the End When I Say It's the End
Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants
Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants
You Ain't Seen Nothing Yeti!

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406373653
Publication date: 01/06/2017
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406373653
Publication date: 1st June 2017
Author: Stephan Pastis
Illustrator: Stephan Pastis
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 304 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Family / Home Stories, Humorous, Personal Social Health Economic
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Books for Boys, Reviewed by Children

About Stephan Pastis

Stephan Pastis is the author-illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Timmy Failure series. The first book, Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made, was a 2014 BookTrust Best Book Awards winner and listed as one of 100 Children's Modern Classics by The Sunday Times. Stephan is also the creator of the devoutly followed comic strip Pearls Before Swine, which appears in more than 700 newspapers worldwide, including the Metro. Stephan lives in northern California, USA. Read more about the author here.   Photo by Susan Young

More About Stephan Pastis

More Books By Stephan Pastis

Cover for Timmy Failure: It's the End When I Say It's the End by Stephan Pastis
Cover for Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants by Stephan Pastis
Cover for Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants by Stephan Pastis
View All Books By Stephan Pastis

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.