Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Wee Free Men

Written by Terry Pratchett

Illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson

Part of the Discworld Novels Series

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Wee Free Men

A rib-tickling, rollicking (all the rollicking it has to be said, is done by the 6 inch high Wee Free Men) adventure with just enough scary fairies to make anyone a little wary of Fairyland. Tiffany Aching has decided she would like to be a witch, which is good, as the land needs Tiffany to be a witch to stop the bad things from Fairyland crossing over into reality. Forming part of the truly wonderful Discworld series, the five Tiffany Aching books are described as being for ‘younger readers’, and I’m quite happy to class myself in that category as Terry Pratchett’s books have the ability to reach out and touch (and sometimes rugby tackle) your thoughts no matter how old you look on the outside. Terry Pratchett hatched a world that is nearly as absurd and almost as sane as our own, and then he ran with it…a long, long way. ‘The Wee Free Men’, the first of the Tiffany Aching books, is a very funny, slightly scary, fizzing fire-cracker of a read, and I whole heartedly recommend it. PS - leave the frying pans to Tiffany! ~ Liz Robinson

The Tiffany Aching Discworld books are in order:

The Wee Free Men

A Hat Full of Sky


I Shall Wear Midnight

The Shepherd’s Crown


The Wee Free Men Synopsis

Tiffany wants to be a witch when she grows up. A proper one, with a pointy hat. And flying, she's always dreamed of flying (though it's cold up there, you have to wear really thick pants, two layers). But she's worried Tiffany isn't a very 'witchy' name. And a witch has always protected Tiffany's land, to stop the nightmares getting through. Now the nightmares have taken her brother, and it's up to her to get him back. With a horde of unruly fairies at her disposal, Tiffany is not alone. And she is the twentieth granddaughter of her Granny Aching: shepherdess extraordinaire, and protector of the land. 

The First Book In The Tiffany Aching Series.

For more about the Discworld series visit

And there is more information on the Puffin website. Meet the heroes of The Wee Free Men here and find out more about Terry Pratchett with a great introduction written by fellow author and fan Dave Rudden.

The Wee Free Men Press Reviews

Plenty to laugh at here, not least Pratchett's ability to put a 90 degree spin on the familiar The Times

A clear example of a comic fantasy classic and, well ... Crivens! It deserves t'sell a millyun copies Sunday Express 

A funny and thought-provoking fantasy, with powerfully visual scenes and characters that remain with readers. A glorious read School Library Journal

Tiffany Aching. Now there's a rather good name for a witch. Quite, quite brilliant. Starburst

If you loved this, you might like these...

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – Slytherin Edition
Viper's Daughter
Tide of Terror
Fizzlebert Stump The Boy Who Ran Away From the Circus (and joined the library)

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780552576307
Publication date: 27/04/2017
Publisher: Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780552562904
Publication date: 29/04/2004
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780552576307
Publication date: 27th April 2017
Author: Terry Pratchett
Illustrator: Laura Ellen Anderson
Publisher: Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: eBooks

About Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett (1948 - 2015) was born in 1948 in Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire. He had his first story published when he was just thirteen, and after leaving school at seventeen to become a journalist he continued writing, publishing his first novel, The Carpet People, in 1971 and going on to produce the phenomenally successful Discworld and his trilogy for young readers, The Bromeliad. His first Discworld novel for children, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents was awarded the 2001 Carnegie Medal. Terry Pratchett as well as numerous other books, winning many awards and becoming the UK’s bestselling author. He was appointed OBE ...

More About Terry Pratchett

More Books By Terry Pratchett

Cover for Father Christmas's Fake Beard by Terry Pratchett
Cover for Truckers Illustrated edition by Terry Pratchett
Cover for Johnny and the Bomb by Terry Pratchett
View All Books By Terry Pratchett

Share this book