Bring Me the Head of Ivy Pocket

Written by Caleb Krisp

Illustrated by John Kelly

Crime / Mystery Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Bring Me the Head of Ivy Pocket

In a nutshell: intriguing, sometimes scary and totally original adventure with the one and only Ivy Pocket

As her many fans will testify, anything is possible with Ivy Pocket, and this volume brings her extraordinary adventures to a suitably thrilling and breath-taking conclusion. Her best friend Rebecca is trapped in a parallel world and Ivy being Ivy, she’s determined to save her. She sets off, mysterious Clock Diamond in hand, but her enemies, including the scary Miss Always, are close behind. Inventive, tireless, vain, delightfully self-delusional, Ivy is brilliant company and from start to finish this trilogy is hugely entertaining. ~ Andrea Reece

Ivy and her adventures will appeal to fans of Lemony Snicket and Neil Gaiman.

Bring Me the Head of Ivy Pocket Synopsis

Our magnificently infuriating heroine is on the very brink of her greatest adventure: bound for London and Prospa House to save Anastasia Radcliff and young Rebecca Butterfield from fates worse than death. But there are difficulties at every turn. The devious Miss Always and her devilish Locks are in hot pursuit. Anastasia is gone, taken by her evil sister-in-law Estelle and hidden in a place no one will ever find her. And worst of all, the Clock Diamond is no longer working, blocking Ivy's route to Prospa. There's a mystery to be unpicked and if anyone can do it, it's Ivy Pocket. After all, she has all the natural instincts of a Russian chess master. Ivy Pocket's tumultuous finale is certain to involve breathtaking adventure, bone-shattering courage and frightful danger. But what price will she have to pay?

Bring Me the Head of Ivy Pocket Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Anyone but Ivy Pocket. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Eloise Mae Clarkson, age 12 - 'This book is unlike any other book I have read. The story was so unique and different. I loved the plot twists and the characters.'
  • Katharine Thomas, age 10 'If you like an exciting storyline, great characters and a fantastic plot then this book is for you!...I would rate it a 5/5 because it is well- written and keeps you guessing until the end.'
  • Ella, age 10 - 'Anyone But Ivy Pocket is a fun book that made me laugh and jump at the same time. It's quite unusual as it’s a Victorian mystery but with some supernatural elements too. I enjoyed it.'
  • Isabelle Preston, age 10 - 'I liked this book because it is a mystery book and is full of adventure.'
  • Molly Betts, age 9 - 'My favourite character was Ivy because she is adventurous, just like me! I would rate this book: *****'
  • Susanna McGurk, age 14 - 'The first novel in the Ivy Pocket series was a great first novel and I cannot wait to read the next book in the series.'
  • Tegan Butler-Moore, age 9 - 'This a good book about a girl who gets involved in a thrilling drama about a murdered Duchess and a mysterious necklace. I really enjoyed it!'
  • Charlotte, age 10 - 'A funny, exciting book. I loved every second of it.'
  • Susie Bridge, age 12 - 'I think 'Anyone but ivy pocket' by Caleb Krisp is really good because for me it make me realize how other people family move away and how lucky I am.'
  • Daisy Theobald, age 12 - 'The more I read it the more I didn't want it to finish. I owould give the book a 10/10!'
  • Oliver Nicholls, age 10 - 'I like the book, it was very mysterious.'
  • Cait Galbriath, age 9 - 'Prepare to meet the clumsy but funny Ivy Pocket - Ivy Pocket will take you on daring adventures so hold on tight.'
  • Lucy Streeter, age 10 - 'This book is all about mystery and adventure...Ivy Pocket is a ball of fire!'

Bring Me the Head of Ivy Pocket Press Reviews

Praise for Anyone but Ivy Pocket.

A wonderfully entertaining heroine Financial Times

Exuberantly told with apt and wildly witty caricatures from John Kelly, it has a fun, original voice Sunday Times

Praise from bloggers:

an exuberant, lively, enthusiastic, mysterious, playful, layered and most of all highly enjoyable read! Children's Book Chat

a delight; a laugh-out-loud cobweb of intrigue and mystery with a Dickensian feel, a dash of fantasy, and a heroine like no other Space on the Bookshelf

Funny, morbid and entertaining...a hilariously bizarre protagonist who will definitely make you laugh The Bibliomanicac

This story absolutely blew me away What Lexie Loves

If you loved this, you might like these...

Goth Girl and the Sinister Symphony
The Dog Squad
Rory Branagan (Detective)
Goth Girl and the Sinister Symphony

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408858721
Publication date: 01/06/2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408858721
Publication date: 1st June 2017
Author: Caleb Krisp
Illustrator: John Kelly
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Humorous
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Caleb Krisp

Caleb Krisp was raised by militant librarians who fed him a constant diet of nineteenth-century literature and room temperature porridge. He graduated from the University of Sufferance with a degree in Whimsy and set out to make his mark in the world as a writer. Years of toil and failure followed, until, following a brief stint working in a locked box, Caleb moved to an abandoned cottage deep in the woods and devoted himself to writing about the adventures of a twelve-year-old lady's maid of no importance. Caleb has a strong dislike of pastry chefs and certain domesticated rabbits. His ...

More About Caleb Krisp

More Books By Caleb Krisp

Cover for Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket by Caleb Krisp
Cover for Anyone but Ivy Pocket by Caleb Krisp
Cover for Anyone but Ivy Pocket by Caleb Krisp
View All Books By Caleb Krisp

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×