LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Dancing the Charleston

Written by Jacqueline Wilson

Illustrated by Nick Sharratt

Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on Dancing the Charleston

The roaring twenties provide the background for Jacqueline Wilson story of family love

Jacqueline Wilson is as at home writing about the past as she is writing about contemporary times and this story of Mona growing up in the 1920s is full of her trademarks: a booky little heroine, an unconventional family, creativity rewarded, and the importance of love and honesty. Mona lives with her aunty who works her fingers to the bone as a seamstress to support her niece. Their home is the gamekeeper’s cottage in the grounds of the local landowners’ estate and as the story unfolds Mona’s life becomes intertwined with the aristocratic Somersets, for all her lowly birth. The post-war period with its new sense of freedom and expression is brilliantly evoked, and Mona’s journey of self-discovery perfectly matches the new era. With a special guest appearance by Hetty Feather this is classic Wilson and will thoroughly enchant her legions of fans.

Andrea Reece

Other Info

Village life in the 1920s is vividly portrayed in this brand-new story with its fascinating cast of characters. Alongside wonderful images of the Somerset Estate, there are also perfect descriptions of trips to London where the sights, sounds and smells of the 1920s city are brought to life.

Dancing the Charleston Synopsis

Are you ready to trip the light fantastic with Mona? In a little cottage on the edge of the grand Somerset Estate, Mona lives with her aunt - a dressmaker to the lady of the house. Even though Mona never knew her mother and father, she knows Aunty tries to give her the best life she can. When Lady Somerset dies and a new member of the family inherits the house, life changes drastically for Mona. Suddenly she's invited to dazzling balls, dines on delicious food and plays with wild new friends. But with these changes come secrets that Mona can't dance away from. . .

A fantastic stand-alone historical novel, perfect for fans of Hetty Feather and Wave Me Goodbye!

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Ice Monster
Armistice Runner
Secrets of a Sun King
Lady Mary

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780857535191
Publication date: 18/04/2019
Publisher: Doubleday Children's Books an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780857535191
Publication date: 18th April 2019
Author: Jacqueline Wilson
Illustrator: Nick Sharratt
Publisher: Doubleday Children's Books an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 448 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: General Fiction, Historical Fiction

About Jacqueline Wilson

Jacqueline Wilson wrote her first novel when she was nine years old, and she has been writing ever since. She is now one of Britain’s bestselling and most beloved children’s authors. She has written over 100 books and is the creator of characters such as Tracy Beaker and Hetty Feather. More than forty million copies of her books have been sold. As well as winning many awards for her books, including the Children’s Book of the Year, Jacqueline is a former Children’s Laureate, and in 2008 she was appointed a Dame. Jacqueline is also ...

More About Jacqueline Wilson

More Books By Jacqueline Wilson

Cover for Rose Rivers by Jacqueline Wilson
Cover for My Mum Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson
Cover for Hetty Feather's Christmas by Jacqueline Wilson
View All Books By Jacqueline Wilson

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×