LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Halloween Parade

Written by Matt Beighton

Illustrated by Amalia Rendon

Part of the Monstacademy Series

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers School Stories

LoveReading View on The Halloween Parade

I read this book twice. The first time I read this on my own and found it a delightful read. It was entertaining and filled with a fun adventure.

The Halloween Parade is about a girl called Trixie Grimble who is sent to a boarding school even though she doesn’t want to go. The boarding school is not your average boarding school, this one is full of Vampires, Ghosts and Werewolves and the only normal thing about the school is Trixie. 

I really liked how the books shows that we can all be different but can go through the same feelings when we are bullied or left out.

The second time I read this book it was with my 5-year-old nephew. He's a big fan of helping me reading children’s books, but he normally struggles to sit through the bigger ones like this one. But not this one. He actually reminded me that we need to read a few more chapters. Together we finished this whole book in a few days. 

When I asked him what he liked about the book he said: “It was really funny, we have to read it again next week”.

This was a big hit with both me and my nephew. A very enjoyable read, suitable for all ages young and old.

Manisha Natha, A LoveReading4Kids Ambassador

LoveReading4Kids Ambassador

The Halloween Parade Synopsis

Joining a new school is hard enough, it’s even harder when your new school is full of monsters. Literally!

On her first day at Monstacademy, Trixie Grimble soon realises that she’s going to have to adjust to her new classmates quickly. It doesn’t help that she’s been given an incredibly important job for the upcoming Halloween Parade and that her only friends are a cursed werewolf and a vegetarian vampire.

When one of the boys in her class cooks up a fiendish plan that puts everything at risk, Trixie and her friends find themselves in a race against time to finish their work and save the day. If only they could get anybody to believe them!

Fans of Jill Murphy’s The Worst Witch and Hotel Transylvania will adore the silly humour and loveable characters in this delightful modern classic chapter book series.

Includes the short story "The Christmas Cat Circus".

The Halloween Parade Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

It's a fun story for 6+-year-old readers, with a more serious take on important contemporary issues. Definitely a recommended read for this age group. Full review

Drena Irish (Age )

This is a very light-hearted and entertaining book for junior-aged readers. Full review

Chris Woolfenden (Age )

This is a great story of how to be a leader and do what is right! Full review

Diana Mason (Age )

If you loved this, you might like these...

Mermaid School
Eric and the Green-Eyed God
Get Me Out of Witch School!
Dragon Red

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781999724429
Publication date: 18/12/2017
Publisher: Green Monkey Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781999724429
Publication date: 18th December 2017
Author: Matt Beighton
Illustrator: Amalia Rendon
Publisher: Green Monkey Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 128 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, School Stories
Recommendations: Indie Books We Love

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×