LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Run, Rebel

Written by Manjeet Mann

Debuts of the Month Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 13+ readers Featured Books for Young Adults Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE) Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Run, Rebel

Powerful verse novel charting a female rebellion against cultural rules and abusive family patriarchy

March 2020 Debut of the Month

This debut novel was inspired by the author’s work creating Run the World, an organisation that empowers women and girls from marginalised backgrounds through sport and storytelling and the authenticity of this, at times harrowing story, is palpably evident. As is the skill of the accomplished writing which makes great use of typography and layout to really make every word count. This speeds the reader through the narrative, but it also cuts deep to reveal the emotions experienced by our narrator.

Amber Rai is only ‘truly alive’ when running and shows great potential. But her alcoholic, abusive, misogynistic father refuses to allow her on the track. She has seen her older sister Ruby denied university and married off against her will and her downtrodden, abused mother is literally powerless to help, trapped as much by illiteracy and lack of English as the violence of her equally illiterate, unemployed husband. Amber has friends and teachers who believe in her, but she cannot explain what really goes on at home. She is a complex and believable character with very real flaws that she painfully recognises: ‘inflicting pain on others/halves your own hurt’. 

But the story is cleverly structured on The Anatomy of a Revolution and inspired by her reading about revolutions for history, Amber, Ruby and her mother gradually empower each other to take small steps to freedom. This is an important, rewarding, highly empathetic read which, despite the dark subject matter, offers hope but no simplistic solutions.

Joy Court

Run, Rebel Synopsis

I am restless, my feet need to fly.

Amber is trapped - by her father's rules, by his expectations, by her own fears. Now she's ready to fight - for her mother, for her sister, for herself.

Freedom always comes at a price. Run, Rebel is a trailblazing verse novel that thunders with rhythm, heart and soul - perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Elizabeth Acevedo and Rupi Kaur.

Run, Rebel Press Reviews

Praise for Manjeet Mann’s Stage Work;

A powerful piece   ArtsScene 

Honest and raw  Salisbury Journal 

Touching and poignant  FemaleArts 

A justly furious rallying call   WhatsOnBirmingham

Rhythmic and conversational   BehindTheArras

Moving, inspiring and challenging    Redbrick 

If you loved this, you might like these...

Just Another Little Lie
The Last Paper Crane
Yes You Can: Ace Your Exams Without Losing Your Mind
The Crossover Graphic Novel

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241411421
Publication date: 05/03/2020
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241411421
Publication date: 5th March 2020
Author: Manjeet Mann
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers, YA readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Personal Social Health Economic , Bullying / Violence / Abuse, Family Issues, Racism / Multi-Culturalism, Romance / Relationship Stories
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month

About Manjeet Mann

Manjeet Mann came from a socio-economic disadvantaged background not too dissimilar to Run, Rebel’s protagonist Amber; growing up in an area of deprivation in The Black Country in the 1990s. She is an acclaimed writer and producer of several one women shows and episodic plays of personal monologues, exploring womanhood across the socio-economic spectrum. She was an associate artist with The Birmingham Repertory Theatre and the Soho Writers Lab, wrote a short comedy film for BBC writers room and her play Starting Out was adapted into a podcast in 2019.

More About Manjeet Mann

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×