LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Child of Galaxies

Written by Blake Nuto

Illustrated by Charlotte Ager

Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 3+ readers Featured Books for 5+ readers General Non-Fiction Reference Books

LoveReading View on Child of Galaxies

A book for the young introducing ideas, creativity and philosophy in a magical world

June 2020 Debut of the Month

This book takes a poetic look at what it means to be alive. Nuto is a debut author – a teacher in Tasmania, who asks some of the big questions about who we all are, about friendship and our place in the universe.  It’s the sort of book that will be a bouncing off point for lots of discussions – but is presented in an accessible and colourful format. Charlotte Ager’s naïve style of illustration means it will appeal across the very young and the not so young.  The bold illustrations offer colour and shade in big pictures. 

Starting with the big questions – that we are made of the stuff of stars, and that we are tiny in comparison to the universe, it goes on to show we have the means to explore, to be both positive and negative.  It shows that though we are a small short-lived speck we have the ability to change the world for the better.  There are some glorious illustrations – full of colour, detail and action, as well as others that are more contemplative.  

A good book to have in your classroom!

Tricia Adams

Child of Galaxies Synopsis

Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,

You're a child of galaxies dreaming.

Child of Galaxies is a thought-provoking and poignant picture book, celebrating the wonder, mystery, resilience and joy of what it means to be alive. Perfect for fans of Here We Are by Oliver Jeffers.

If you loved this, you might like these...

One Girl
If You Come to Earth
We Planted a Pumpkin
You Matter

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781912497423
Publication date: 02/06/2020
Publisher: Flying Eye Books
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781912497423
Publication date: 2nd June 2020
Author: Blake Nuto
Illustrator: Charlotte Ager
Publisher: Flying Eye Books
Format: Hardback
Suitable for: 3+ readers, 5+ readers
Genres: General Non-Fiction, Politics & Law, Reference Books
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month

About Blake Nuto

Blake Nuto is a primary trained teacher with a deep love of children’s literature and a desire to integrate philosophy and mindfulness into education. This is his first book. He currently lives and works in Tasmania.

More About Blake Nuto

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×