LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

News Hounds: The Puppy Problem

Written by Laura James

Illustrated by Charlie Alder

Write A Review

News Hounds: The Puppy Problem Review

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 5+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers Pets Stories about Animals

Hold the front page for dachshund Gizmo

Gizmo the dachshund has moved to the country. He didn’t really want to, but where Grannie goes, he goes. However, life in the village of Puddle, unprepossessing as it sounds, turns out to be rather exciting. He makes friends with next door neighbour Jilly the Irish wolfhound and before you know it is helping her find new owners near to home for her four puppies. It’s a real challenge, and the other village dogs can’t come up with a solution, but then Gizmo has a brilliant idea, one that uses his unique skills, learned at the foot of Grannie’s typewriter (she was a journalist). It’s highly entertaining, the illustrations – in full colour – are very appealing and this is great for children ready for solo reading.

Andrea Reece

News Hounds: The Puppy Problem Synopsis

Gizmo is a city dog, so when he moves to the village of Puddle with his journalist human he doesn't know WHAT to expect. Certainly not FLOWERS. Or BEES. And he couldn't have even imagined MUD. Luckily he's got Jilly, the wolfhound next door, to show him around. But Jilly has a problem. Her puppies are going to be given to new owners far away. She'll never see them again! Gizmo might not know the difference between a cow and a tractor but he's got a nose for a story, and a great idea to help Jilly. What if the dogs of Puddle had a newspaper? STOP PRESS!

A charming and hilarious new illustrated young fiction series about the things dogs get up to when their humans aren't looking, from the author of The Adventures of Pug series. Perfect for fans of Toto the Ninja Cat and The Secret Life of Pets.

News Hounds: The Puppy Problem Press Reviews

Praise for Cowboy Pug;

A great book with lovely pictures and typography for five- to seven-year-olds who are starting to read for themselves and like dogs with multiple chins - The Times 

Praise for Captain Pug;

Gorgeous funny young fiction - Bookseller

Praise for Fabio: The Case of the Missing Hippo;

Zany ... Even reluctant readers will have a blast - Irish Times 

This neon-bright mystery involves a talent show, a hippo jazz singer, gallons of pink lemonade and, of course, Fabio - Metro

If you loved this, you might like these...

Kitty and the Kidnap Trap
The Tindims and the Turtle Tangle
Winter Wishes
The Pirate Captain's Cat

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526620545
Publication date: 15/04/2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526620545
Publication date: 15th April 2021
Author: Laura James
Illustrator: Charlie Alder
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 128 pages
Suitable for: 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Pets, Animals
Recommendations: Reluctant Readers
Collections: Summer Reading 2021, 2021 Preview - Mega Books on the Horizon,

About Laura James

Laura James’ love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. The Adventures of Pug are based on the antics of her own very silly dogs, Brian and Florence. Together the three of them live in a tiny cottage just outside of Bath where they have lots of adventures and eat lots of jam tarts – all in the name of research of course!  Laura’s first book, Captain Pug, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children&...

More About Laura James

More Books By Laura James

Cover for Fabio the World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Peril at Lizard Lake by Laura James
Cover for Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Mystery on the Ostrich Express by Laura James
Cover for Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo by Laura James
View All Books By Laura James

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×