Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The 5th Wave

Written by Rick Yancey

Part of the The 5th Wave Series

Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 13+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks Science Fiction Thrillers

LoveReading View on The 5th Wave

Overall Winner of 2014 Red House Children’s Book Award - One of our Books of the Year 2013 & May 2013 Book of the Month    This is a novel that packs a punch on every page with hope and despair in equal measure alongside life and death. It will leave you gasping for breath and keep you hooked to the end and long after it'll be a book that makes you think.  In a sentence it's The Passage meets The Hunger Games and it's the first of a new and epic dystopian series from Carnegie-shortlisted Rick Yancey.

The sequel to The 5th Wave is equally gripping - download an extract of The Infinite Sea here!

The 5th Wave Synopsis

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains.

After the 2nd, only the lucky escape.

And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive.

After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it's the dawn of the 5th wave. On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until Cassie meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope for rescuing her brother and even saving herself. Now she must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Cassie Sullivan gets up.

Join in the chat on The 5th Wave facebook page.

The 5th Wave Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Sarah Murray - 'I had extremely high hopes and I was not disappointed… I love how the author slowly introduces characters and cleverly entwines flashbacks… This book had me in tears and at times reaching for my old nightlight. This book is another utterly fabulous addition to the growing dystopian franchise!' Read full review >
  • Delilah Acworth, age 14 -'10/10 for this genius creation, it is definitely a book worth falling for!' Read full review >
  • Danielle Shepherd - 'This is an amazing book....a fast pacing, page turning book, not only can you not put it down but you want to read it again, which of course I did.' Read full review >
  • Morgan Steigmann, age 14 - 'This book should honestly be re-named the eighth wonder of the world, full of action, mystery and hope; the often occurring cliff-hangers will leave you in utter despair, with no choice but to delve into another nail-biting chapter.' Read full review >
  • Darcy Elliman, age 15 - 'Fifth Wave is an amazing, fast paced novel which has you gripped to every page.' Read full review >
  • Susana Sanchez - 'Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave has all the ingredients to become another one in the pile of dystopian fantasies so favoured by teenagers in the past few years. And it is a very good one at that. Fans of The Knife of Never Letting Go, I am Number 4 or The Hunger Games will not be disappointed.' Read full review >
  • Hollie Compton - 'I think great thought went into writing this book with how the characters were introduced and how they developed over the story.  The way everything led to another, and how the story flowed so smoothly was amazing.' Read full review >

The 5th Wave Press Reviews

This is DAMN and WOW territory. Quite simply, one of the best books I've read in years -- Melissa Marr, New York Times Bestselling Author

Breathtakingly fast-paced and original, The 5th Wave is a reading tsunami that grabs hold and won't let go. -- Melissa De La Cruz, New York Times Bestselling Author Of The Blue Bloods Series.

Yancey's heartfelt, violent, paranoid epic, filled with big heroics and bigger surprises, is part War of the Worlds, part Starship Troopers, part Invasion of the Body Snatchers, and part The Stand ... a sure thing for reviewers and readers alike. Booklist (starred review)


If you loved this, you might like these...

Eve of Man
Shadows
Reborn
The Infinite Sea

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780141366470
Publication date: 03/11/2015
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780141345833
Publication date: 07/05/2013
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141345833
Publication date: 7th May 2013
Author: Rick Yancey
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 13+ readers
Genres: Science Fiction, Thrillers
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: All Shortlists and Winners, Reviewed by Children

About Rick Yancey

Rick is a native Floridian and a graduate of Roosevelt University in Chicago. He earned a B.A. in English which he put to use as a field officer for the Internal Revenue Service. Inspired and encouraged by his wife, he decided his degree might also be useful in writing books and in 2004 he began writing full-time. Since then he has launched two critically acclaimed series: The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, for young readers, and The Highly Effective Detective, for adults. Both books are set in Knoxville, Tennessee, where Rick lived for ten years before returning to Florida. Rick ...

More About Rick Yancey

More Books By Rick Yancey

Cover for The Last Star by Rick Yancey
Cover for The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
Cover for The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey
View All Books By Rick Yancey

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×