10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Little Lion Girl

"A celebration of new experiences and the power of imagination combine in this charming story of lion-like Leonie."

View All Editions

£7.99 £7.19

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review Read An Extract

LoveReading4Kids Says

LoveReading4Kids Says

July 2024 Book of the Month

On a daytrip to the busy and bustling city, Leonie is as brave as a lion. Racing through crowds, growling in museums and charging through pigeon-filled squares, she is fierce and bold. But as evening creeps in and shadows grow, it is the comforting arms of her loving mum she needs.

This is a charming picture book about grabbing life and new experiences with two hands. Leonie is a great example of a bold, confident little girl claiming her place in the world. Whilst the ending provides a gentle warning about not straying too far too quickly, and the power of having a secure and loving parent to return to. Beautifully warm-hued illustrations bring the city to life with a rich playfulness, whilst the colours, dappled art and use of shadow perfectly invoke the sense of a lion. In addition, scale and perspective are expertly used to capture what it fills like to be small in a big city.

An inspiring tale of imagination and boldness, perfect for fans of Sydney Smith and Joseph Coelho’s Luna series.

Amy McKay

Books of the Month

Find This Book In

Suitable For:
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

About

Press Reviews

You Might Also Like...

3+ readers

Little Lion Girl

Olivia Hope

Hardback

In Stock

£11.69 £12.99

3+ readers

Giraffe and a Half

Nicola Kent

Paperback

Pre-order. 1st August 2024

£7.19 £7.99

3+ readers

How to Catch a Star

Oliver Jeffers

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

3+ readers

Rainbowsaurus

Steve Antony

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

3+ readers

Home is Where My Heart Is

Smriti Halls

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

3+ readers

Grey

Laura Dockrill

Hardback

In Stock

£13.49 £14.99