Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Blue Peter Book Awards 2019

The Blue Peter Book Awards, now in their 19th year, aim to guide children towards quality literature, encouraging them to read and establish a love of reading for life.The two winners were announced on a special World Book Day edition of the show on Thursday 7 March - The Boy at the Back of the Class by Onjali Q Raúf and The Colours of History by Clive Gifford.

Blue Peter Best Story

Blue Peter Best Book with Facts

Past Blue Peter Book Awards Winners

Blue Peter Best Story

Winner of Best Story is: The Boy at the Back of the Class by Onjali Q Raúf. Onjali Q Raúf's latest book tells the story of how four classmates have a massive impact on the life of Ahmet, a boy that comes to their school as a refugee from Syria. It's an inspiring tale that will help children be the best they can be and realise the power of kindness.

Blue Peter Best Book with Facts

Winner of Best Book with Facts is: The Colours of History by Clive Gifford, illustrated by Marc-Etienne Peintre

The Blue Peter Book Awards 2019

The Winner is for Best Story is;

The Boy at the Back of the Class by Onjali Q Raúf

And the shortlisted titles were;

The House with Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson

The Clockwork Crow 
by Catherine Fisher

And the winner for Best Book with Facts;

The Colours of History by Clive Gifford

And the shortlisted titles were;

Professor Astro Cat’s Human Body Odyssey by Dr. Dominic Walliman

The Element in the Room by Mike Barfield

The winners and shortlisted titles were chosen by the judges, which this year were:

Ewan Vinnicombe - Editor, Blue Peter (non-voting chair)

Darren Chetty -  Teacher, writer and researcher

Louise Pentland - Author, parenting, lifestyle and beauty blogger and vlogger

Alex T Smith - Author-illustrator

Blue Peter editor Matthew Peacock said:     'We’ve had a fantastically strong selection of titles for the Blue Peter Book Awards 2019 and it’s great to see children from across the UK voting to decide the outcome. Congratulations go to Best Story Book winner Onjali Q Rauf for The Boy at the Back of the Class which is such an informative and poignant tale about a subject that is very important to many children today. I’m also incredibly pleased we are able to present Clive Gifford with the award for Best Book with Facts. The Colours of History is such an original take on a history book, linking colours to amazing facts.'

The books were judged by more than 400 young Blue Peter viewers drawn from 12 schools across the UK, who decide the winners of the Blue Peter Book of the Year 2019 in each of the two categories: Best Story and Best Book with Facts.

To be eligible authors and illustrators must either be British nationals or residents at the time of entering. Books must be first published in the UK between 1 November 2017 and 31 October 2016.

The winning books were announced on World Book Day on Blue Peter on Thursday 7 March 2018, with the winning authors and illustrators also appearing on the special awards episode of the show.

You can keep up to date with the Awards @Booktrust and at