Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Costa Children's Book Award 2020

Congratulations to Natasha Farrant on her Costa Children's Book Award 2020 win - we were thrilled to see Voyage of the Sparrowhawk scoop the prize. We have reviews and extracts for all the winning and shortlisted titles so read on for more about these four fantastic children's books - and some previous award winners too.

Jump to:
Previous Costa Children's Winners

Winner: Voyage of the Sparrowhawk

In the aftermath of World War One, everyone is trying to rebuild their lives. If Ben is to avoid being sent back to the orphanage, he needs to find his brother Sam, wounded in action and is now missing. Lotti's horrible aunt and uncle want to send her away to boarding-school (when she has just so successfully managed to get ...

View Book Page

Shortlisted Books

The Costa Children's Book Award Winner

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk by Natasha Farrant - published by Faber

The judges said: ‘We loved everything about this remarkable, special, delightful book – pure heavenly escapism and a purely joyful read.’

The Shortlist for the Costa Children's Book Award

Wranglestone by Darren Charlton - published by Little Tiger

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates by Jenny Pearson - published by Usborne

The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff - published by Bloomsbury

On the judging panel for the 2020 Costa Children's Book Awards is:

Patrice Lawrence, award-winning author

John McLay, Children’s Literary Scout and Book Event Organiser

Alex O'Connell, Arts Editor and Children’s Book Critic, The Times

The winner of the Children's Book Category 2019 was Asha & the Spirit Bird, Jasbinder Bilan's sublime debut novel; as the judges said, “Wow! We unanimously lost our hearts to this gorgeous book.” It is an enchanting Indian adventure that sings with magic, mysticism and a whole lot of heart, inspired by her special relationship with her grandmother and drawing on the rich heritage of her family history. You can download an extract and read our full review here.

The winners of the five categories of the Costa Book Awards - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book - were announced on BBC Radio 4's Front Row on Monday 4 January 2021 and each received a £5,000 prize. The category winners, including Voyage of the Sparrowhawk, then go forward into the competition to win the overall  Costa Book of the Year 2020 which will be announced on Tuesday 26th January 2021, and the overall winner will receive a £30,000 prize.