LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Darkness Hidden

Written by Zoe Marriott

Part of the The Name of the Blade Series

Write A Review

Darkness Hidden Review

Featured Books for 13+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

Fans of Cassandra Clare, L.A. Weatherly and Becca Fitzpatrick will love this, the second in The Name of the Blade series which is steeped in Japanese myth and legend. In the first in the Name of the Blade series, The Night Itself, against all odds, Mio, Jack and Shinobu defeated the terrifying Nekomata and get back to London alive. But the Underworld has spawned a worse monster in London - one carrying a devastating plague. So British-Japanese protagonist Mio, the sort of heroine the reader will aspire to be, battles to save the city but not without sacrifice.

LoveReading4Kids

Darkness Hidden Synopsis

Who would you sacrifice to save the world? Don't miss the second explosive book in the young adult fantasy series, The Name of the Blade. Against all odds, Mio, Jack and Shinobu have defeated the terrifying Nekomata and got home alive. But Mio is still compelled to protect the katana, and now the Underworld has spawned a worse monster - one carrying a devastating plague that sweeps through London like wildfire. As Mio struggles to protect the city and control the sword's deadly powers, she realizes that this time there is no way she can keep everyone she loves out of the line of fire.

Darkness Hidden Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Alice D'Angelo, age 15 - 'Darkness Hidden has the perfect mix of reality and fantasy to engage readers, and I loved the suspense and adventure throughout.' Read full review >
  • Ciara Gallagher, age 14 St. Colm’s High School - 'I think this book is an excellent read and you should really give it a go, you won’t be disappointed.' Read full review >

Darkness Hidden Press Reviews

Zoe Marriott is a rising star of fantasy fiction. The Times

Praise for The Night Itself....

“Japanese mythology meets urban awesomeness (and a swoon-worthy romance!). The Night Itself captivated me.” L. A. Weatherly, author of the Angel Trilogy

“Mio is a wonderful heroine who reminded me of some of my favourite superhero characters, and her connection with Shinobu is touching and believable. The Japanese
mythology was refreshing, and I absolutely cannot wait for the next book in the series!”
Karen Mahoney, author of the Iron Witch Trilogy and Falling to Ash

“A beautiful, awe-inspiring ride through an iconic London landscape harbouring extremely dangerous secrets.  The Night Itself is a fantastic blend of Japanese folk tale and twenty-first-century thriller, populated by characters you will be rooting for at every breathless step.”  Katy Moran, author of Hidden Among Us

“I fell in love with sassy, courageous, wise-cracking Mio from page one.”  Ruth Warburton, author of the Winter Trilogy

If you loved this, you might like these...

Defy the Night
Giften
Know Your Rights and Claim Them
Green Rising

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406342390
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406342390
Publication date: 3rd July 2014
Author: Zoe Marriott
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers
Recommendations: eBooks, Reviewed by Children

About Zoe Marriott

Zoe Marriott lives in North East Lincolnshire with two cats, named Echo and Hero, and the Devil Hound, otherwise known as Finn. She says of Shadows on the Moon, " I never liked Cinderella as a little girl. She seemed like the worst kind of wimp to me, and I hated the fact that she needed someone else to come along and rescue her. Then one day I was thinking about a completely different idea for a book set in fairy-tale Japan - and suddenly the two story ideas collided in my head, and it occurred to me: what if Cinderella ...

More About Zoe Marriott

More Books By Zoe Marriott

Cover for Barefoot on the Wind by Zoe Marriott
Cover for Shadows on the Moon by Zoe Marriott
Cover for The Name of the Blade The Night Itself by Zoe Marriott
Cover for The Name of the Blade The Night Itself by Zoe Marriott
View All Books By Zoe Marriott

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×