LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Name of the Blade The Night Itself

Written by Zoe Marriott

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 13+ readers

LoveReading View on The Name of the Blade The Night Itself

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer.  Great for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare.

LoveReading4Kids

The Name of the Blade The Night Itself Synopsis

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. When Mio steals the family's katana - a priceless ancestral sword - from her parents' attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the katana is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, appears to protect Mio - and threatens to steal her heart. With the gods and monsters of Japanese myth stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life...but the love of a lifetime.

It is suitable for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare.

The Name of the Blade The Night Itself Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Alice D'Angelo, age 14 - 'This story was so gripping once I started reading I ended up reading it all the time because I was so intrigued to find out what happened next.' Read full review >
  • Realm of Fiction - 'Zoe Marriott’s The Night Itself draws together some interesting magical concepts and takes them to a modern-day London.' Read full review >
  • Molly Hudson - 'I really enjoyed this book, found the characters fun and interesting and liked the cultural aspect of the book. I enjoyed learning a bit about Japanese life and history.' Read full review >
  • Carla McGuigan, age 13  - 'I found this novel to be one of the most amazing books ever. It was romantic, adventurous, mysterious, interesting and it was just absolutely brilliant. I would strongly recommend this book to girls my age.' Read full review >
  • James Smart - 'an amazing book with a slow beginning with a sharp incline in the plot toward the end.' Read full review >
  • Ciara Gallagher - 'I really thoroughly enjoyed this book it had piles of action in it and that is what I enjoy.  I would strongly recommend this book to ages 12-15 there is really only one word that can some this book up which is AMAZING!' Read full review >

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sorceress
The Lost Book of the White
Midnight Sun
Cinderella Is Dead

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406357950
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406357950
Publication date: 3rd July 2014
Author: Zoe Marriott
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Suitable for: 13+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: Reviewed by Children

About Zoe Marriott

Zoe Marriott lives in North East Lincolnshire with two cats, named Echo and Hero, and the Devil Hound, otherwise known as Finn. She says of Shadows on the Moon, " I never liked Cinderella as a little girl. She seemed like the worst kind of wimp to me, and I hated the fact that she needed someone else to come along and rescue her. Then one day I was thinking about a completely different idea for a book set in fairy-tale Japan - and suddenly the two story ideas collided in my head, and it occurred to me: what if Cinderella ...

More About Zoe Marriott

More Books By Zoe Marriott

Cover for Barefoot on the Wind by Zoe Marriott
Cover for Shadows on the Moon by Zoe Marriott
Cover for Darkness Hidden by Zoe Marriott
View All Books By Zoe Marriott

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×