Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Across the Barricades A Kevin and Sadie Story

Written by Joan Lingard

Part of the The Originals Series

Featured Books for Young Adults Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Across the Barricades A Kevin and Sadie Story

In these terrifying days in Belfast, no Protestant girl like Sadie could go out with a Catholic boy like Kevin without resentment or even murderous violence flaring up around them. They were made for each other, they knew that, but what would happen if they went on seeing each other?


Across the Barricades A Kevin and Sadie Story Synopsis

Kevin and Sadie just want to be together, but it's not that simple. Things are bad in Belfast. Soldiers walk the streets and the city is divided. No Catholic boy and Protestant girl can go out together - not without dangerous consequences ...

Love Stories

If you loved this, you might like these...

I, Ada
The Great Godden
The Falling in Love Montage

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780141368917
Publication date: 04/08/2016
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141368917
Publication date: 4th August 2016
Author: Joan Lingard
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Suitable for: YA readers
Genres: Romance / Relationship Stories
Other Categories: Classics

About Joan Lingard

Joan Lingard is a versatile and prolific author whose novels for children and adults turn upon challenging themes, often the struggle for individual freedom in the face of social conflict and fragmentation. Belfast, where she lived from the age of two to eighteen, is the setting for The File on Fraulein Berg (1980), Dark Shadows (1998) and the 'Kevin and Sadie quintet', in which the young protagonists form relationships across the religious divide. The 'Maggie quartet' is set in Glasgow and the Highlands of Scotland, while The Gooseberry (1978), Rags and Riches (1988) and Glad Rags (1990) are set in Edinburgh, where Joan Lingard was ...

More About Joan Lingard

More Books By Joan Lingard

Cover for The Twelfth Day of July A Kevin and Sadie Story by Joan Lingard
Cover for Into Exile by Joan Lingard
Cover for Trouble on Cable Street by Joan Lingard
View All Books By Joan Lingard

Share this book