LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Magisterium: The Bronze Key

Written by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Part of the The Magisterium Series

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks Traditional Tales

LoveReading View on Magisterium: The Bronze Key

In a nutshell: Who’s got your back?

Fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare’s Magisterium series will be itching to get their hands on this the third adventure. They might expect it to provide a lull in the action, after all Callum has proved that Constantine Madden, the Enemy of Death, is himself deceased and he and his friend Aaron are being lauded by the mage world as heroes. No chance! It appears that someone knows Callum’s secret, ie that Constantine’s soul lives on inside him and a taut story of twists, secrets and suspicion follows. There’s enough back story for new readers to pick up on what’s going on but frankly it would be a shame to start here when this series has so much to offer.

The fantasy setting is original and well-realised, the stories action-packed and thought-provoking too, particularly on the subject of good and evil; one to recommend therefore to fans of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy.   ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

Magisterium: The Bronze Key Synopsis

Magic can save you. Magic can kill you. It should be a time of celebration. The Enemy of Death is dead; a severed head proof of his downfall. The magical world has no reason to believe otherwise, and Callum, Tamara and Aaron are celebrated as heroes. But at a party held in their honour, things go horribly, brutally wrong. A fellow student is callously murdered, and it seems Call's worst fears are confirmed: there is a spy in the Magisterium. No one is safe. Now, using the powerful magic they've been taught, the trio must risk their lives to track down the killer. But magic is dangerous - in the wrong hands it could bring terrible destruction. And reveal the deadliest secret of all...

Magisterium: The Bronze Key Press Reviews

'This tightly plotted story shines with imaginative twists and settings, sparks of humor, and a rich portrayal of friendship in the face of doubt. The co-authors successfully probe the themes of good and evileven as they craft an entertainingly fast-paced read. Both a successful addition to the middle-grade magic school genre and a satisfying sequel.' Kirkus US

Further praise for the series:

'moves deftly into the gap left by Harry Potter ... all the ingredients of a gripping tale for young teenagers' Telegraph

'A thrilling coming-of-age story that embraces fantasy tropes while keeping readers guessing.' Publishers Weekly

'The Iron Trial is merely a setup and introduction, and promises to take subsequent instalments of the Magisterium series in a more complex and philosophical direction' Starburst

If you loved this, you might like these...

North Child
Lampie and the Children of the Sea
Who Let the Gods Out?
Magisterium: The Iron Trial

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780552567701
Publication date: 01/09/2016
Publisher: Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780552567701
Publication date: 1st September 2016
Author: Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
Publisher: Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, Traditional Tales
Recommendations: eBooks

About Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices trilogy, and The Bane Chronicles. Her books have more than 30 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts. Holly Black is the bestselling author of contemporary fantasy novels for teens and children, including Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale and the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick series. She has been a finalist for the Mythopoeic Award and the Eisner Award, and the recipient of the ...

More About Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

More Books By Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Cover for Magisterium: The Copper Gauntlet by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
Cover for Magisterium: The Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
Cover for Magisterium: The Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
View All Books By Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×