LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Isadora Moon Has a Sleepover

Written by Harriet Muncaster

Illustrated by Harriet Muncaster

Featured Books for 7+ readers

LoveReading View on Isadora Moon Has a Sleepover

Magic, friendship and fairness

What young reader wouldn’t want to have a sleepover with Isadora Moon? With a fairy mum and vampire dad she can fly and do magic, and she’s lots of fun – she magics best friend Zoe’s favourite toy to life.  When the two little friends get a bit carried away making a cake for a school competition and use magic to conjure up something really spectacular, Isadora realises it wouldn’t be fair to enter it into the competition, but can she persuade Zoe of that? For all the magic, these appealing stories are mirrors of real life, reassuring, revealing, full of the ordinary happiness that friends and family bring. With illustrations on every page and short, easy to follow chapters, they’re perfect for newly independent readers.

LoveReading4Kids

Other Info

A message from the author about her inspiration for the character of Isadora Moon : There is actually quite a bit of history behind Isadora Moon. About ten years ago, on my art foundation course, I created a character called Victoria Stitch and wrote and illustrated a picture book about her. She was a grown up, naughty, slightly gothic, fairy type character and she had a Pink Rabbit who she always dragged around with her. Victoria Stitch became like my alter ego and I always kept her close to me and worked on her in my spare time. Over the years she evolved. She started with pink hair and then she turned even more gothic looking with black, messy hair and with bat wings instead of fairy wings. As my style of illustration changed, she changed too. She is extremely special to me. However, whenever I showed Victoria Stitch to publishers I was always told that she was ‘too mean,’ ‘too naughty,’ ‘too spiky,’ ‘not child friendly.’ Looking back, I can see what they mean. I decided to create a new, separate character who would be more suitable for children but with the black/pink/gothic aesthetics of Victoria Stitch - a younger, friendlier, sweeter version. So Isadora Moon was born! I also gave Isadora Moon fangs (unlike Victoria Stitch) as when I started to think about the backstory for her (why she has batwings, what species is she etc…) it made sense that her mum was a fairy and her dad was a vampire. This is why Isadora Moon is so special to me – because she was born out of a real passion project of mine. I absolutely adore her.

Isadora Moon Has a Sleepover Synopsis

Isadora Moon is special because she's different. Her mum is a fairy and her dad is a vampire and she's a bit of both. When Isadora is invited to stay at her friend Zoe's house she's so excited - she hasn't been to a sleepover before! There will be midnight feasts, and staying up all night, it's going to be so much fun! And while she's there, Isadora and Zoe are going to work on their cake for a baking competition at school. But will they be able to resist adding a sprinkling of magic to their creation. . . ?

With irresistible pink and black artwork throughout by author/illustrator Harriet Muncaster and a totally unique heroine with an out-of-this-world family, this is a beautiful, charming, and funny series of first chapter books. Perfect for fans of Claude, Dixie O'Day, and Squishy McFluff, Isadora Moon is the ideal choice for readers who want their magic and sparkle with a bit of bite!

Isadora Moon Has a Sleepover Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the series, Isadora Moon Goes to School. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Diya Budhdeo, age 7 - 'This is one of my favourite ever books and I read this book quicker than I had read any other book before. This is perfect for girls my age and I can’t wait to read more. I love this book.'
  • Emma Radford (mum to Sam and Jack) - 'We loved Isadora Moon Goes to School...The illustrations were lovely and gave us lots to talk about. Both my boys are really keen to read more of Isadora's exploits!'
  • Tanya Thurling - 'the chapters are just the right length for one before bedtime...so I think this book is perfect if you want to progress to bigger books with your child...Isadora Moon who is half fairy and half vampire (which Eleanor LOVED. Possibly the coolest thing she's ever heard. Her words, not mine).'
  • Reece, age 6 - 'I like this book because I really like the pictures, they are pink and black.'
  • Star, age 7 - 'This book is 10/10 even though it is about vampire fairies.'
  • Olivier, age 7 - 'This book is funny because it makes you laugh. I really like the pictures.'
  • Leighton, age 7 - 'I like this book even though it is a girly book.'
  • Madison - 'I would give it 12/10 because the pictures are that pretty.'
  • Bran, age 7 - 'I give it 10/10 because it is funny and amazing.'
  • Melanie Daniels - 'A unique, fun and magical book about a little girl who isn't quite sure where she fits in best.... Isadora Moon is a wonderful heroine full of fun and surprises.'
  • Aggie Daniels - 'This book is full of lovely pictures and is a quick read, I finished it before teatime. Dramatic, exciting and wonderful.
  • Robyn, age 7 - 'A great book that had me hooked from the minute I started it. I'm sure it will be read many more times. Looking forward to more Isadora Moon already.'
  • Mira Ruby Lalji, age 6 - 'A thrilling, colourful first chapter book about being unique!  Recommended for all new readers who love fantasy!.. Harriet Muncaster used interesting words like campfire, snoozing, Bartholeme, gurgling and turret.  I like learning new words!'
  • James McNichol, age 6 - 'There wasn't anything about Isadora Moon that I didn't like.'
  • Caye Gould - 'A book that eases a child into taking the big step of starting school in a delightful way. An excellent read for parents and children alike.'
  • Seraphina Pope, age 7 - 'My daughter absolutely loved this book, it's actually the first book she picked and read all by herself. The illustrations are really lovely and probably helped to connect her with this character.'
  • Maya Lewis, age 8 - 'I thought Isadora Moon was really good! I liked it when Isadora's bunny let all the bats out!'

Isadora Moon Has a Sleepover Press Reviews

Praise for Isadora Moon;

In Isadora, Harriet Muncaster has created an original and endearing character who effortlessly challenges the notion that little people belong in boxes - a welcome addition to the bookshelves indeed. - Primary Times

The first-person voice helps the reader to connect with Isadora, who may just be the most lovable vampire ever created. - Guardian

Beautifully presented throughout with pink and black illustrations . . . a lovely step up book for newly independent readers. - lovereading4kids.co.uk

If you loved this, you might like these...

Face to Face with Manatees Level 5
The Secret of the Tattered Shoes
The Golden Acorn
Be The Change

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192767110
Publication date: 07/03/2019
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192767110
Publication date: 7th March 2019
Author: Harriet Muncaster
Illustrator: Harriet Muncaster
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 128 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Recommendations: Reviewed by Children
Other Categories: Early Readers

About Harriet Muncaster

Harriet Muncaster has been drawing, writing and creating things for as long as she can remember. It was while at school that she discovered that being an illustrator and author was a real career path she could take. From that moment on Harriet knew exactly what she wanted to be! After completing a degree and MA in illustration, Harriet’s work was spotted by a publisher at Bologna book fair and she got her first book deal. Harriet is inspired by anything magical, fantastical and glittery. She also has a great fascination for miniature things and owns a dollshouse ...

More About Harriet Muncaster

More Books By Harriet Muncaster

Cover for Isadora Moon Goes to the Fair by Harriet Muncaster
Cover for Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip by Harriet Muncaster
Cover for Isadora Moon Goes to School by Harriet Muncaster
View All Books By Harriet Muncaster

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×