LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Clean Getaway

Written by Nic Stone

Adventure Stories Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

LoveReading View on Clean Getaway

Road trip race against time • Moving family mystery • Inspiring ode to heroes of the African American civil rights movement

Longlisted for the UKLA Book Awards 2021

This Middle Grade debut from award-winning YA author Nic Stone (I adored her Dear Martin novel) features one-of-kind characters and true-to-life struggles underpinned by a special relationship between a boy and his grandma, and the segregation history of the American South. It’s also powerful on themes of racism, making amends, and complex family dynamics.

In big trouble at school and fearing his dad has lost faith in him, eleven-year-old Scoob has had a rough time of it of late, so the prospect of going on a road-trip with his gloriously willful grandma seems pretty good. Travelling with the Green Book guide that lists ‘safe’ places for African Americans to travel, G’ma takes them to places she and her deceased husband visited on a trip decades ago, though they didn’t make it the whole way. Among these sites are the bombed church where civil rights activists used to gather, including Dr Martin Luther King, and the former home of Medgar Wiley Evers, a black soldier who fought in WWII and came home to fight for civil rights.

As their journey progresses, Scoob is increasingly freaked out by G’ma’s actions and state of mind. “Looks like we’re both trying to make a run for it,” she remarks, leading Scoop to anxiously wonder what she’s running from, and what she’s trying to make amends for. During their moving page-turner of a trip, the story reveals how unjust life was for African Americans during segregation, and how hard it was for Scoob’s African American G-pop and white G’ma to be a young married couple.

Gripping, moving and informative, this is a wonderfully warm read, and Scoob’s perspective is spot-on for the age-group.

Joanne Owen

Clean Getaway Synopsis

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Ross Welford and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:

- Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.

- Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.

- Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:

- A Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs.

Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual. Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem - his G'ma included.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Boy Giant
The Puffin Keeper
Tinsel The Girls Who Invented Christmas
The Acrobats of Agra

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781913311025
Publication date: 05/03/2020
Publisher: Knights Of Media
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781913311025
Publication date: 5th March 2020
Author: Nic Stone
Publisher: Knights Of Media
Format: Paperback
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Family / Home Stories, Personal Social Health Economic , Racism / Multi-Culturalism

About Nic Stone

Nic Stone is the author of the New York Times bestselling Dear Martin, Odd One Out and Jackpot. She was born in Atlanta and has lived and in Israel, working extensively in teen mentoring. Growing up with a wide range of cultures, religions, and backgrounds, Stone strives to bring these diverse voices and stories to her work.

More About Nic Stone

More Books By Nic Stone

Cover for Dear Justyce by Nic Stone
Cover for Jackpot by Nic Stone
Cover for Dear Martin by Nic Stone
View All Books By Nic Stone

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×