LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond

Written by Alex English

Illustrated by Mark Chambers

Part of the Sky Pirates Series

Adventure Stories Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction

LoveReading View on Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond

A skyful of excitement and adventure!

August 2020 Debut of the Month

Oooh, there’s so much for young fans of adventure stories to enjoy in Alex English’s new book! It stars eleven-year-old Echo, who has grown up in the court of the king of Lockfort. It’s a gloomy and frankly repressive place and the king is very strict with Echo, who was left at the castle gate as a baby. She’s always been told there’s nothing beyond the kingdom’s borders – literally nothing at all – but suddenly, a challenge to that drops out of the sky, and with it the chance for Echo to explore a new world of adventure and to look for her mother. The story is full of fantastic scenes and packed with wonderful characters and English has created the sort of world that envelops young readers from the very first chapter. A glorious summer read!

This is one to recommend to fans of Abi Elphinstone, Vashti Hardy and Jamie Littler.

Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond Synopsis

Take to the skies in this thrilling new series from author Alex English. (BEWARE: THERE WILL BE PIRATES!) 11 year-old Echo Quickthorn has grown up believing that nothing exists outside the Kingdom of Lockfort, but everything changes when an eccentric professor parks his airship outside her window armed with a map that shows all the magical places that exist beyond the city walls. Together with her pet lizard, Gilbert, Echo sets off on an incredible adventure to find her missing mother; an adventure that will take her to unimaginable places filled with giant butterflies, mechanical dragons and . . . sky pirates! 

Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond Press Reviews

Fizzes with magic and wonder - Abi Elphinstone, bestselling author of Sky Song

A charmingly madcap adventure, with endearing friendships, sparkling wit, and a swashbuckling journey across pirate-infested skies. I loved it. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Cogheart. - Hana Tooke, author of The Unadoptables

A spirited protagonist, a charming side-kick and a believable villain come together in this tightly plotted, visual, treat for the senses. I want to soar over the rainbow rooftops of Port Tourbillon and the toadstooled forests of Tyrian in my very own airship. - Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

Sky Pirates is a fast-moving adventure story full of intrepid explorers, ingenious inventors, stolen treasure and mysterious undiscovered lands. If you like Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (and who doesn't?) you'll love Sky Pirates too! Kirsty Applebaum, author of The Middler

From the very first page, I felt as if I'd been grabbed by the hand by a best friend and taken on the journey of a lifetime. Pacey, thrilling and endearing too. If I was ever to encounter sky pirates, I can think of no one I'd want by my side more than clever, brave Echo. - Joanna Nadin, author of the Rachel Riley series

A breath-taking adventure and a wonderfully imagined story of friendship and danger in strange places. - Claire Fayers, author of The Voyage to Magical North

An incredible adventure, brimming with friendship and danger - The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

Fortunately, the Milk . . .
Kid Normal and the Final Five
Forged in Steel
Dog Man: World Book Day 2020

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471190773
Publication date: 23/07/2020
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471190773
Publication date: 23rd July 2020
Author: Alex English
Illustrator: Mark Chambers
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, General Fiction
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month

About Alex English

Alex English is a picture book author, a graduate of the Bath Spa University MA Writing for Young People and a SCBWI volunteer. She currently lives with her family just outside Paris. Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond is her first middle-grade title and the start of a swashbuckling new series.

More About Alex English

More Books By Alex English

Cover for Mine Mine Mine! Said The Porcupine by Alex English
Cover for Yuck! Said The Yak by Alex English
Cover for Pirates Don't Drive Diggers New Edition by Alex English
View All Books By Alex English

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×