LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Worst Class in the World Gets Worse

Written by Joanna Nadin

Illustrated by Rikin Parekh

Write A Review

The Worst Class in the World Gets Worse Review

Adventure Stories Books of the Month Featured Books for 5+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers Humorous School Stories

A hilarious new adventures for the best worst class in the world

January 2021 Book of the Month

It is their headmistress, Mrs Bottomley-Blunt, who describes 4B (repeatedly) as the ‘worst class in the world’, and you can see why she does: even when they are made playground monitors, 4B just can’t seem to avoid causing mayhem and the most logical-sounding decisions (stay in the toilets all break to avoid getting into trouble) result in calamity, or as Mrs Bottomley-Blunt would have it, ‘a hoo-ha’. It’s the delicious combination of wrong decisions, sincerely taken, and the scale of the hoo-has caused that make the stories such fabulously entertaining reading. There are two self-contained episodes in each book and the speedy narration, cleverly placed repeating phrases, short chapters and wonderfully lively illustrations by Rikin Parekh, make them perfect for newly independent readers. They are such a treat to read aloud though, it would be a shame not to make this bedtime reading so that all the family can enjoy the fun.

Pamela Butchart (Wigglesbottom Primary) and Matt Brown (Mutant Zombies Cursed my School Trip) also write extremely funny school-set stories that revel in mischief caused inadvertently.

Andrea Reece

The Worst Class in the World Gets Worse Synopsis

According to head teacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt, 4B is the WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD. She says school is not about footling or fiddle-faddling or FUN. It is about LEARNING and it is high time 4B tried harder to EXCEL at it.

But Stanley and Manjit didn't LITERALLY mean to flood the toilets when they should have been monitoring the playground. And they definitely didn't LITERALLY mean to bring a penguin home from the zoo on their school trip. These things just happened even though they had a FOOLPROOF plan to get away with them.

The second in a new, laugh-out-loud young fiction series from bestselling author Joanna Nadin. Perfect for fans of Horrid Henry and the Trouble with Daisy series. Highly illustrated and featuring two hilarious madcap adventures in one book, these books are just right for children ready for their first chapter books.

The Worst Class in the World Gets Worse Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading4Kids expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

This book should be read by everyone in the entire world because it’s great. The illustrations by Rikin Parekh are the best and add even more humour to the story. I will definitely be reading Book 1. Full review

Amatullah Khatun (Age 10)

When you read this book, you should watch out for a sticky mess and a toilet explosion! Full review

Olivia Townsend (Age 9)

Fabulous book with nice storyline! Full review

Prisha Yadav (Age 11)

This is a great, funny book for ages 7-9 and one that I recommend highly. Full review

Elissa Watkin (Age 8)

The Worst Class in the World Gets Worse Press Reviews

Deliciously silly, with hilarious catchphrases, Joanna Nadin's The Worst Class in the World, illustrated with grubby glee by Rikin Parekh, is a great cheer-up book. According to headteacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt, 4B are the rottenest of eggs - when will they win a prize like 4A? But somehow the shambolic crew always muddle through, even though Mr Nidgett keeps threatening to leave teaching and become a lion-tamer. - Guardian Book of the Month

'HILARIOUS! Proper laughs!' - Pamela Butchart

If you loved this, you might like these...

Freddy and the New Kid
The Worst Class in the World
A Robot Squashed My Teacher
The Book Family Robinson

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526611888
Publication date: 07/01/2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526611888
Publication date: 7th January 2021
Author: Joanna Nadin
Illustrator: Rikin Parekh
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 160 pages
Suitable for: 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Humorous, School Stories
Recommendations: Books of the Month

About Joanna Nadin

Joanna Nadin is a winner of the Fantastic Book Award, the Surrey Book Award, Blue Peter 'Book of the Month' and Radio 4 Open Book 'Book of the Year'. She has been shortlisted for the Booktrust Best Book Award and Queen of Teen, and Spies,  Dad,  Big Lauren and Me was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. In 2011, Penny Dreadful is a Magnet for Disaster was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Joe All Alone was nominated for the 2016 C ILIP C arnegie Medal. She writes the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy. Joanna previously ...

More About Joanna Nadin

More Books By Joanna Nadin

Cover for No Man's Land by Joanna Nadin
Cover for The Worst Class in the World by Joanna Nadin
Cover for It Wasn't Me: A Bloomsbury Young Reader by Joanna Nadin
View All Books By Joanna Nadin

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×