LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Day the Screens Went Blank

Written by Danny Wallace

Illustrated by Gemma Correll

Write A Review

The Day the Screens Went Blank Review

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous Science Fiction

Laugh out load comedy from Danny Wallace in this hugely enjoyable, timely story

A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month April 2021

What happens when Mum and Dad can no longer rely on technology to keep them informed? Following a nationwide collapse in everything technical, Stella’s family sets off to visit Grandma on the other side of the country because they can’t reach her on Skype. It’s a road trip with a difference – no phones, no sat nav, no paying for a meal with a credit card. Stella makes a great narrator as she watches her father, shorn of his usual helping tools, navigate this new situation. In doing so she lightly reveals the pitfalls that would beset us all if all the screens went blank while also gently leading readers to see that there could be some benefits. 

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E

Other Info

Julia Eccleshare's Picks for April 2021

Burning Sunlight by Anthea Simmons

Shades of Scarlet by Anne Fine

The Day the Screens Went Blank by Danny Wallace & Gemma Correll

Fourteen Wolves by Catherine Barr & Jenni Desmond

Weirdo by Zadie Smith, Nick Laird & Magenta Fox

Ruffles and the Red, Red Coat by David Melling 

The Duck Who Didn't Like Water by Steve Small

An Alien in the Jam Factory by Chrissie Sains

The Day the Screens Went Blank Synopsis

A hilarious middle-grade road-trip adventure from bestselling author, comedian, and presenter Danny Wallace, with illustrations throughout from Gemma Correll. Perfect for fans of Liz Pichon and David Baddiel!

Imagine if all the technology in the world just . . . STOPPED. When ten-year-old Stella wakes up to discover a world full of BLANK screens, her family, town, and in fact the whole world seems to have been thrown into chaos. And what about poor Grandma who is stranded at the other end of the country?

Cue a rollicking madcap road trip, full of driving disasters and family fallouts, as they set off on a rescue mission. And along the way Stella and her family discover that being away from screens might not be the Worst Thing Ever, and even though they might not be able to rely on technology anymore, they can rely on each other instead. 

If you loved this, you might like these...

Circus Maximus: Race to the Death
When We Got Lost in Dreamland
The Elephant in the Room
Adam-2

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471196881
Publication date: 18/03/2021
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471196881
Publication date: 18th March 2021
Author: Danny Wallace
Illustrator: Gemma Correll
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Humorous, Science Fiction
Recommendations: Julia Eccleshare's Picks

About Danny Wallace

Best-selling writer, Danny Wallace, turned his hand to children’s fction with his debut Hamish and the WorldStoppers. Filled with his trademark humour, this fantasy adventure series was inspired by the books that set Wallace’s own young imagination alight. Everyone loves Hamish! The frst two books have received fantastic praise and children nationwide have devoured his stories. Hamish is a thoroughly endearing character and Danny’s writing has a sense of humour that appeals to kids and parents alike. Danny has collaborated with leading illustrator Jamie Littler, who brings the world of Hamish to life with ...

More About Danny Wallace

More Books By Danny Wallace

Cover for Hamish and the Terrible Terrible Christmas and Other Stories by Danny Wallace
Cover for Hamish and the Baby BOOM! by Danny Wallace
Cover for Hamish and the Gravity Burp by Danny Wallace
View All Books By Danny Wallace

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×