LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Dragon Storm: Tomas and Ironskin

Written by Alastair Chisholm

Illustrated by Eric Deschamps

Part of the Dragon Storm Series

Write A Review

Dragon Storm: Tomas and Ironskin Review

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers School Stories

Exciting dragon adventures, just right for young readers

Welcome to the city of Rivven, where young Tomás works alongside his father, a blacksmith. The people of the region used to be friends with dragons, but that was many years ago and all the dragons vanished after the ‘Dragon Storm’. It’s while working in the forge that Tomás suddenly sees a fierce face in the fire. What could it be, and why is it calling on him to be ready? Tomás you see, is a dragonseer, and his life is about to change in the most wonderful way possible.

Invited to join the Dragon Guild, he meets the dragon in the flames and the two become best friends. Alastair Chisholm proved in his science-fiction novels Orion Lost and ADAM-2 that he can write page-turning adventure stories full of great characters. The story of Tomás and Ironskin is the first in a new series for young readers (aged 7+) and perfectly pitched for the age group, with the same levels of excitement and action but simply and economically told. These will be compulsive reading, and readers will be eager to return to Rivven for more dragon stories.

Andrea Reece

Other Info

The Editor at Nosy Crow says: "Dragon Storm is exactly the kind of series that I loved as a child. It is such a phenomenally appealing premise - discovering that you have a unique connection to your very own dragon - and Alastair’s writing is just unputdownable. It’s wonderful, exciting, imaginative fantasy - perfect for 7-9 year olds."

Dragon Storm: Tomas and Ironskin Synopsis

The first book in a thrilling, magical, and action-packed new fantasy series, illustrated throughout and perfect for 7 - 9 year olds!

In the land of Draconis, there are no dragons. Once, there were. Once, humans and dragons were friends, and created the great city of Rivven together. But then came the Dragon Storm, and the dragons retreated from the world of humans. To the men and women of Draconis, they became legends and myth. Tomas has always been told that now, dragons are extinct, and so he can't believe it when a mysterious stranger invites him to join a secret society, the Dragonseer Guild - and tells him that not only do dragons still exist, but also that Tomas has a very special power... he can summon his very own dragon! But Tomas faces a difficult choice, and he and his dragon, Ironskin, must learn to trust each other - and together, they have to save their home from a deadly threat.

An exciting new fantasy series from the highly acclaimed author of Orion Lost, brilliantly illustrated throughout, and perfect for fans of Beast Quest and How to Train Your Dragon.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good
Count
Mermaid School: Save Our Seas!
Diary of an Accidental Witch

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781839940026
Publication date: 13/01/2022
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781839940026
Publication date: 13th January 2022
Author: Alastair Chisholm
Illustrator: Eric Deschamps
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 160 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, School Stories
Collections: 2022 Book Preview: Must Read Books To Look Forward To, The Worst Witch, What To Read Next?,

About Alastair Chisholm

Alastair is a children's author and puzzle creator. As a puzzle creator he wrote quite a lot of books of Sudoku and other puzzles for kids and grown-ups, and as an author he writes picture books and middle-grade fiction. Alastair lives in Edinburgh with his wife (who is lovely), two teenagers (who are lovely but very loud), and a cat named Maudie, who is yowling at him even though there is clearly food in her bowl, look, it's right there, look. His hobbies include writing and playing games on his phone when he should be writing.    

More About Alastair Chisholm

More Books By Alastair Chisholm

Cover for The Consequence Girl by Alastair Chisholm
Cover for Adam-2 by Alastair Chisholm
Cover for Orion Lost by Alastair Chisholm
View All Books By Alastair Chisholm

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×