Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events 1)

Written by Lemony Snicket

Part of the A Series of Unfortunate Events Series

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

LoveReading View on The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events 1)

This bestselling series (in fact in the top five of bestsellers of the last decade), now at long last available in paperback, launches with the suitably named title that charts the unlucky reason why the whole woeful story of the three Baudelaire siblings was ever told.

This  is the wretched book that started all the trouble. Violet, Sunny and Klaus are three intelligent, charming and resourceful children but they suffer some very bad luck indeed when their parents die in a fire that destroys their home and they are packed off to live with their nasty relative, Count Olaf. Here they encounter a greedy villain, disgusting food, strange behaviour by those around them and much more - all of which is revealed in the hugely entertaining, totally deadpan humour that has made this series so original and so captivating.

Books in The Series of Unfortunate Events:

1. The Bad Beginning

2. The Reptile Room

3. The Wide Window

4. The Miserable Mill

5. The Austere Academy

6. The Ersatz Elevator

7. The Vile Village

8. The Hostile Hospital

9. The Carnivorous Carnival

10. The Slippery Slope

11. The Grim Grotto

12. The Penultimate Peril

13. The End


The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events 1) Synopsis

There is nothing to be found in the pages of these books but misery and despair. You still have time to choose something else to read. But if you must know what unpleasantries befall the charming and clever Baudelaire children read on... The three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune and cold porridge for breakfast. Then again, why trouble yourself with the unfortunate resolutions? Avoid these books in Lemony Snicket's international bestselling series and you'll never have to know what happens!

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Griffin Gate
The Danger Gang
The Wizards of Once: Never and Forever Book 4
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405266062
Publication date: 04/01/2010
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont Childrens Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405266062
Publication date: 4th January 2010
Author: Lemony Snicket
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont Childrens Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical

About Lemony Snicket

Image © Meredith Heuer Lemony Snicket had an unusual education and a perplexing youth, and now endures a despondent adulthood. His previous published works include the thirteen volumes in A Series of Unfortunate Events, The Composer Is Dead, and 13 Words. His forthcoming book, “Who Could That Be at This Hour?”, which is the first question in a series of All The Wrong Questions, will be made available only to the general public on October 23, 2012.  He is represented in all matters literary, legal, and social by Daniel Handler, author of the Printz Honor-award winning Why We Broke Up. ...

More About Lemony Snicket

More Books By Lemony Snicket

Cover for Swarm of Bees by Lemony Snicket
Cover for The Bad Mood and the Stick by Lemony Snicket
Cover for The Bad Mood and the Stick by Lemony Snicket
View All Books By Lemony Snicket

Share this book