LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Moone Boy: the Blunder Years

Written by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Moone Boy: the Blunder Years

One of our Books of the Year 2014  Martin Moone- one boy and a load of sisters! That means Martin is always in trouble of one kind or another. What would you do? When Martin asks his friend Padraic for advice about changing the gender balance in the Moone family home, Padraic suggest finding a IF – imaginary friend. Martin is hilarious as he tells of his search for a suitable choice. Just what a kind of a person should he pick?

This is the first book in a very funny new illustrated-fiction series from the award-winning Bridesmaids and The IT Crowd actor Chris O'Dowd and his long-term friend and Moone Boy TV-scriptwriting collaborator Nick Vincent Murphy. Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid and David Walliams.

----------------------------------

And you can catch Moone Boy in his own tv series on Sky 1 starring co-writer and Hollywood actor Chris O'Dowd - watch a trailer here!

LoveReading4Kids

Moone Boy: the Blunder Years Synopsis

Martin Moone is eleven and completely fed up with being the only boy in a family of girls. He's desperate for a decent wingman to help him navigate his idiotic life. So when best mate Padraic suggests Martin get an imaginary friend - or 'IF' for short - he decides to give it a go.

His first attempt is Loopy Lou, a hyperactive goofball who loves writing rubbish rap songs. But Martin soon gets fed up with Lou's loopiness and decides to trade in his IF for someone a little less wacky. Enter Sean 'Caution' Murphy, an imaginary office clerk in a bad suit with a passion for laziness and a head full of dodgy jokes. Sean is full of tips and tricks to guide Martin through the perils of the playground, from dealing with his sisters' pranks to beating the bullying Bonner boys. But getting rid of Lou is not that easy, and having TWO imaginary friends is a recipe for trouble!

Moone Boy: the Blunder Years Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Sidney Greenslade, age 11 - 'A brilliant tale of a hapless boy, his imaginary friend and how they deal with the problems of everyday life in a unique and hilarious way.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'A brilliantly funny read full of crazy characters, hilarious definitions and cool cartoons. I loved it!'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 10 - 'Really funny book and just like the TV series. If you like Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates, you will surely like this too!'
  • Cameron Lobban, age 10 - 'What a funny book! I laughed and laughed but also found the ending sad. I hope this is not the last I have heard of Martin Moone and Sean Murphy.'
  • Sam, age 10 - 'I laughed until I cried - a brilliant book, perfect for reading to cheer yourself up.'
  • Edward, age 10 - 'A total ball! A laugh every page!'
  • William Longlands, age 11 - '7/10 I liked the plot but would not read it again.'
  • Lola Thurston-Mathews, age 8 - 'Martin is tired of living in a family full of girls and really wants a wingman.  When his best friend Padraic tells him about imaginary friends he becomes desperate to find one.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

Mesopo
Guardians of Magic
Tin Boy
Plastic Sucks! You Can Make A Difference

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447270959
Publication date: 23/04/2015
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781447270942
Publication date: 23/10/2014
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447270942
Publication date: 23rd October 2014
Author: Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Recommendations: eBooks, Reviewed by Children

About Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Chris O'Dowd is an award-winning actor, writer and director. He has appeared in many films, including Bridesmaids, The Sapphires and This Is 40. He has also starred in cult TV series The IT Crowd, Family Tree and Girls, as well as Moone Boy for Sky, which he wrote and directed with his friend Nick Vincent Murphy. Currently rehearsing for the Broadway production of Of Mice and Men with James Franco, he is due to work on Stephen Frears's forthcoming film about Irish journalist David Walsh and cyclist Lance Armstrong, playing the lead role of David Walsh. Chris is from Roscommon, Ireland, ...

More About Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

More Books By Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Cover for Moone Boy 3: The Notion Potion by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
Cover for Moone Boy: The Marvellous Activity Manual by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
Cover for Moone Boy 2: The Fish Detective by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
View All Books By Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×