The Thing About Jellyfish

Written by Ali Benjamin

Debuts of the Month Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks School Stories Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

LoveReading View on The Thing About Jellyfish

March 2016 Debut of the Month Twelve year old Suzy’s confusion following the death of her best friend fuels this roller-coaster debut novel. When Franny drowns in a freak accident during the school holiday Suzy finds herself dealing not with the death of her best friend as her mother thinks but with the far more devastating loss of their friendship sometime earlier. Suzy copes by becoming electively mute and by constructing a story to explain what happened to Franny. Moving back and forth between Suzy’s obsessive behaviour after Franny’s death as she finds out everything she can about the lethal jellyfish who is, she is sure, responsible for it and, the last few months before Franny’s death when the friendship unravelled is clever as she loses Franny to the cool set.

The Thing About Jellyfish Synopsis

It's peculiar how no-words can be better than words. How silence can say more than noise, or a person's absence can occupy even more space than their presence did.

Suzy is 12 when her best friend, Franny, drowns one summer at the beach. It takes two days for the news to reach Suzy, and it's not something that she can accept: Franny has always been a strong swimmer, from the day they met in swim class when they were just 5. How can someone all of a sudden, just no longer be there? Suzy realizes that they must have got it wrong: Franny didn't just drown - she was stung by a poisonous jellyfish. This makes a lot more sense to Suzy's logical mind than a random drowning - cause: a jellyfish sting; effect: death. Suzy's journey to acceptance is quiet - she resolves to either say something important, or say nothing at all. But it's also bursting with bittersweet humour, heart-breaking honesty, big ideas and small details.

An astonishing debut novel about a twelve year old girl coping with the death of her best friend. Perfect for fans of Wonder, Counting By 7s and My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece.

The Thing About Jellyfish Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews here.

  • Cajsa Jonsson, age 10 - 'A brilliant book about a girl on a mission to find out how her best friend mysteriously drowned. The story is a brilliant mix of fiction and non-fiction. Suzy is a girl who never gives up on dreams.'
  • Emily Pitfield, age 11 - 'An amazing book, full of drama and emotion.  I really felt for Suzy and wanted to follow her touching story until the very end.'
  • Verity, age 10 - 'Tragic, funny and exciting. I always wanted to read the next page.'
  • Poppy Milburn, age 10 - 'Enchanting!  This story is hard to put down, you just want to carry on and on.....'
  • Alice East, age 11 - 'What I loved about this book was that is showed who a true friend was and how to be a true friend.'
  • Sadie, Yr 8, Great Torrington School - 'It is quite sad, but covers the stages of grief perfectly-I think this book will be a bestseller, and I hope that Ali Benjamin receives the praise she deserves for this brilliant book.'
  • Liam, age 13 - 'Suzy cannot believe the fact that her best friend or former best friend has drowned! In defiance, she decides to not speak unless it is essential. '
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'A really unique book with a very different story and style of writing. It really sets itself apart and I absolutely loved it.'
  • Charlotte Rosevear, age 12 - 'The Thing About Jellyfish is very good, as it’s all about how Suzy doesn't talk after her friend Franny dies, but Suzy can't accept that Franny died from drowning.'
  • Bella Ettery, age 13 - 'I couldn’t put it down once I started and loved the short chapters and truthfulness of the book...great for fans of David Almond as it’s similar in style.'
  • Jamie, Someries Junior School - 'Everyone believes she drowned, but Suzy knows that's impossible. Franny was such a great swimmer! Stubborn, lonely and frustrated by not knowing the truth, she decides to find out what happened.'
  • Ben Thorpe, age 11 - 'This is a thought-provoking book about the grief and guilt that a 12 year old feels when she loses someone close to her, and how she learns to cope.'
  • Heather Greenan, age 12 - 'A gripping read!'
  • Verity Corrick-Gough, age 11 - 'This book is the best I have EVER read! I couldn't put it down. I loved it more then any book I have read.'
  • Matthew Kirk, age 10 - 'This book is an ok book however it took a while to get to the point.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Secret Cooking Club: Confetti & Cake
Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama!
The Dog that Saved Christmas
Hamish and the Terrible Terrible Christmas and Other Stories

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447291251
Publication date: 22/09/2016
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781447283836
Publication date: 10/03/2016
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447283836
Publication date: 10th March 2016
Author: Ali Benjamin
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, General Fiction, School Stories, Personal Social Health Economic
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Ali Benjamin

Ali Benjamin has written for the Boston Globe Magazine, Martha Stewart's Whole Living, and Sesame Street. Ali is a member of the New England Science Writers. When not working, Ali wrangles children, drinks too much coffee, sometimes runs, hangs out with friendly dogs, gazes at electron microscopy images of bugs, and teaches kids about storytelling and writing. She serves scrambled eggs for dinner far too often.

More About Ali Benjamin

More Books By Ali Benjamin

Cover for The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin
View All Books By Ali Benjamin

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.