LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Nancy Parker's Spooky Speculations

Written by Julia Lee

Illustrated by Chloe Bonfield

Crime / Mystery Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Nancy Parker's Spooky Speculations

In a nutshell: a diary of detection from our favourite 1920s housemaid  |  With the current craze for historical mysteries and clever girl detectives, readers will be delighted to make the acquaintance of Nancy Parker, bright young maid and experienced sleuth. In this adventure, she’s starting a new job as housekeeper for the somewhat eccentric Miss Dearing at creaky Oxcoombe Grange. A series of unexplained bumps in the night set Nancy’s detective instincts jangling, and with the help of her friend Ella, at school nearby, she determines to find out what’s going on. It’s told partly through Nancy’s diaries and partly through third person narrative, so readers are always at the very heart of the action. The mystery is thoroughly satisfying and this is just the kind of book to kindle a life-long appreciation of crime fiction.

Definitely one to recommend to fans of Robin Stevens’s Murder Most Unladylike series, and readers will also enjoy Katherine Woodfine’s Sinclair’s Mysteries.  ~ Andrea Reece

Nancy Parker's Spooky Speculations Synopsis

Maidservants, Mystery, and Murder! Everyone's favourite housemaid-detective is back! Now Nancy has a new job working at Oxcoombe Grange. It's great except for one thing - Nancy is convinced the house is haunted! Ella Otter, now a reluctant pupil at nearby Seabourne Grammar School for Girls, demands a scientific investigation.

Together, Nancy and Ella set out to do some spooky snooping, and to uncover the mysteries of the Grange's cellars. But in doing so they make a few enemies, discover a few surprising secrets, and put themselves into a little more danger than they were bargaining for ...A funny and energetic middle-grade mystery, narrated part in the third person and part through Nancy's illustrated journal.

Perfect for fans of Murder Most Unladylike and The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow.

Nancy Parker's Spooky Speculations Press Reviews

Praise for The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth

a magnificent, madcap book - Julia Lee is like an anarchic Frances Hodgson Burnett Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers.

Praise for Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection

Intrepid housemaid-turned-detective Nancy Parker is a heroine to root for. Katherine Woodfine, author of The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

Praise for Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection This junior sleuth is worth investigating Children's book of the week, Alex O'Connell, Times

If you loved this, you might like these...

Timmy Failure: It's the End When I Say It's the End
Secret Seven: Mystery of the Skull
The Racehorse Who Disappeared
The Book Case

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192746979
Publication date: 05/01/2017
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192746979
Publication date: 5th January 2017
Author: Julia Lee
Illustrator: Chloe Bonfield
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Crime / Mystery
Recommendations: eBooks

About Julia Lee

Julia Lee has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. She wrote her first book aged 5, mainly so that she could do all the illustrations with a brand-new 4-colour pen, and her mum stitched the pages together on her sewing machine. Julia grew up in London, but moved to the seaside to study English at university, and has stayed there ever since. Her career has been a series of accidents, discovering lots of jobs she didn’t want to do, because secretly she always wanted to be a writer.  Julia is married, has two ...

More About Julia Lee

More Books By Julia Lee

Cover for Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection by Julia Lee
Cover for The Dangerous Discoveries of Gully Potchard by Julia Lee
Cover for The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth by Julia Lee
View All Books By Julia Lee

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×