LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

A Darkness of Dragons

Written by S. A. Patrick

Part of the Songs of Magic Series

Write A Review

A Darkness of Dragons Review

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

Sparkling fantasy adventure overflowing with dragons and magic

A boy with a special talent, a girl transformed into a rat by magic, and a fire-breathing young dracogriff (half dragon, half griffin) – three friends, three unlikely heroes! In S A Patrick’s sparkling fantasy adventure they face sorcerers, bandits, imprisonment and mercenary armies, plus betrayal by the people they should be able to trust the most, and they face them all with courage, loyalty to each other and humour. Their arch enemy is the legendary Pied Piper no less, supposedly imprisoned for what he did in Hamelyn, but actually free and planning more wickedness against humans and dragons alike.  It’s a story full of adventure and excitement, as well as characters readers will root for from the first – and best of all, there’s a sequel!

 

Readers who enjoy Patch, Wren and Barver’s adventures will also enjoy Abi Elphinstone’s Rumblestar series and Michelle Harrison’s Widdershins Adventures.

Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

A Darkness of Dragons Synopsis

In a world of dragons, song spells, pipers and battles... Patch Brightwater is a boy in disgrace. Thrown in jail for playing a forbidden spell, he is no one's idea of a hero. But then he discovers a deadly truth - the evil Piper of Hamelyn is on the loose.

With the help of Wren, a girl cursed to live as a rat, and Barver, a fire-breathing dracogriff, Patch must stop the Piper sparking the biggest battle of them all. Three accidental heroes versus one legendary villain... an epic adventure is born.

Win the full series of Songs of Magic - all signed by the author!

Win the full series of Songs of Magic - all signed by the author!

Closing date: 28/02/2022

Songs of Magic is a sparkling fantasy adventure overflowing with dragons and excitement! We have a copy of all three books from the series, A Darkness of Dragons, A Vanishing of Griffins and A Thunder of Monsters to give away to THREE lucky readers - and ALL have been SIGNED by the author S A Patrick!

Enter Now

A Darkness of Dragons Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading4Kids expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

This is a definite action/adventure book for ages 8-9. I would without a doubt give this five stars. I can't wait to read the second book. Full review

Elissa Watkin (Age 8)

If you loved this, you might like these...

Get What They Deserve
Beyond the Mountains
Skin Taker
Endling: Book Three: The Only

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781474945677
Publication date: 06/09/2018
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781474945677
Publication date: 6th September 2018
Author: S. A. Patrick
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical
Collections: Songs of Magic - Our Series of the Month,
Other Categories: If They Like...They'll Love

About S. A. Patrick

S.A. Patrick was born in Belfast. When he was a child, he wanted to write video games, become an author, and have magical powers. The first two came true. If he ever does get magical powers, he hopes people like dragons and griffins because there'll suddenly be a lot of them around. He has had four previous books published as Seth Patrick. Songs of Magic is his first series for children. Photo credit James Luscombe

More About S. A. Patrick

More Books By S. A. Patrick

Cover for A Thunder of Monsters by S. A. Patrick
Cover for A Vanishing of Griffins by S. A. Patrick
View All Books By S. A. Patrick

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×