LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

What To Read After The Diary of a Wimpy Kid

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid has engaged many a reluctant reader since it was first published in 2007.

In 1998 Jeff Kinney came up with the idea for Diary of a Wimpy Kid, a story about a middle-school weakling named Greg Heffley. Jeff worked on his book for almost eight years before showing it to a publisher in New York.

The 16-book series follows Greg Heffley, who illustrates his daily life in a diary. 

It was first published online on Funbrain.com in daily installments and to date, the online version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has more than 80 million visits, and is typically read by more than 70,000 kids a day.

The first Diary of a Wimpy Kid book became an instant bestseller and there are now more than 200 million copies of the series in print worldwide. The books are currently available in 76 editions in 64 languages.

Since initial publication in 2007, the series has gone on to win many regional and national awards around the globe including two Children’s Choice Book Awards and six Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards for Favourite Book and Jeff Kinney was named one of Time magazine’s most influential people in the world.

In addition to the Wimpy Kid books, Jeff has created a series of books focusing on Greg's best friend Rowley Jefferson.

The thing that connects all of Greg's books is their hilarity, the easy-to-read nature complemented by the comic-book-style illustrations. They're fun. They're cheeky. They're inclusive. My son read every book a dozen times...and some kids struggle with finding their next read after the Wimpy Kid series. So, to keep that fire burning, we have selected a collection of books that we think will satisfy the most ardent of Wimpy Kid fans.

For the younger fans who have devoured the series and want more of the same, they've gotta get their hands on the following series.

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates by Liz Pichon. My daughter wasn't a fan of Wimpy Kid but she became obsessed with reading every one of these books.

The Adventures of Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey where George and Harold create the greatest super-hero in their school's history and they're about to bring him to life. Meet Captain Underpants!

The World of Norm by Jonathan Meres where the everyday becomes ridiculous in this hilarious story of Norm’s life.

The Accidental Diary of B.U.G by Jen Carney where ten-year-old Billie Upton Green opens up her doodle diary to readers, and what a treat it proves.

If the kids are a little older and want a next step, there are a selection of graphic novels and cartoon-style books here that we think they'll love.

Comments (0)


Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×