LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Kid Normal

Written by Greg James, Chris Smith

Illustrated by Erica Salcedo

Part of the Kid Normal Series

Adventure Stories Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Kid Normal

July 2017 Debut of the Month  

In a nutshell: hapless heroics from a wimpy kid in a Harry Potter world

Imagine what it would be like if you were you, an ordinary kid, but by complete accident you enrolled in a school where everyone had an amazing superpower. That’s exactly what happens to Murph Cooper, and the resulting story is very funny indeed. This is the first children’s book by radio stars Greg James and Chris Smith, and it’s a zany mix of slapstick, colourful characters and superhero jokes. Beneath all of that too it slips in an important message about how ordinary can be special too. This is a great summer holidays read and if you’re looking for a book for bedtime it’s great fun to read aloud.

Kid normals will also enjoy these books in the same vein: My Brother is a SuperheroOthergirl by Nicole Burstein and Shane Hegarty’s Darkmouth series. ~ Andrea Reece

Kid Normal Synopsis

When Murph Cooper rocks up to his new school several weeks into the beginning of term, he can't help but feel a bit out of his depth. And it's not because he's worried about where to sit, and making friends, and fitting in, or not knowing where the loos are. It's because his mum has enrolled him at a school for superheroes by mistake. And unlike his fellow students, who can all control the weather or fly or conjure tiny horses from thin air, Murph has no special abilities whatsoever. But just because you don't have superpowers, it doesn't mean you can't save the day. Let's hope Murph realises that, and quick - because not far away is a great big bad guy who is half man and half wasp, and his mind is abuzz with evil plans...It's time for Kid Normal to become a hero!

Perfect for fans of David Solomons, David Baddiel and Danny Wallace. Featuring brilliant illustrations by Erica Salcedo throughout.

Watch a video of the authors Greg James and Chris Smith talking about the very first Kid Normal book on KidsZone.

Kid Normal Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to the review by one of the Lovereading4kids editorial experts some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Alexander Bisland age 12 & Daniel Bisland age 10 - 'We enjoyed this book because it was funny and leaves you on the edge of your seat. We give it 5/5. We recommend it to 9+.'
  • Erica, age 11 - 'So, this phenomenal book is perfect for anyone in doubt or any one who is thirsty for adventure and it's perfect for any age. Just remember, if in doubt, there's always a silver lining to every cloud.'
  • Emily Yates - 'Kid Normal is a story of trust, bravery and friendship, along with a touch of very silly fantastical ideas, that seem so real that they come alive on your page!'
  • Joshua Beverley, age 9 - 'This book is hilarious, gripping and takes you on a journey through Murph Cooper’s schools. Murph moves around a lot but nothing prepares him for ‘The School’...Find out all about it in 'Kid Normal'- an extraordinary story about an ordinary boy.'
  • Josh Parcell, age 10 - 'The book is really funny because strange and weird things happen and I really like that...I would rate this book a million out of 10, probably the best book I've read this year.'

Kid Normal Press Reviews

“Kid appeal aplenty, genuinely warm and funny writing, an excellent wasp-man villain and a positive message about discovering your own strengths”    Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

Kid Normal and the Rogue Heroes
I Swapped My Brother On The Internet
Treasure Hunters: Quest for the City of Gold
Word of Mouse

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408884539
Publication date: 13/07/2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408884539
Publication date: 13th July 2017
Author: Greg James, Chris Smith
Illustrator: Erica Salcedo
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, General Fiction, Humorous
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Audio Books, Reviewed by Children

About Greg James, Chris Smith

Greg James is the host of Radio 1's Drivetime show and the Official Chart. He is also a familiar face on TV, and in February he completed his #GREGATHLON - five triathlons in five different cities on five consecutive days - raising over GBP1,000,000 for Sport Relief. In 2014 he won Gold for 'Best Entertainment Show' at the last ever Radio Academy Awards, which arguably makes him the most entertaining radio presenter in perpetuity. Greg has no superpowers. In his spare time he enjoys the idea of having hobbies. But in reality, he's made all of them into work. Follow ...

More About Greg James, Chris Smith

More Books By Greg James, Chris Smith

Cover for Kid Normal and the Shadow Machine by Greg James, Chris Smith
Cover for Kid Normal and the Rogue Heroes by Greg James, Chris Smith
View All Books By Greg James, Chris Smith

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×